Split Adventures


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
June 16th 2006
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Inside the VaticanInside the VaticanInside the Vatican

The courtyard just inside the Vatican with the spinning Orb
The morning of the 16th, I (Melissa) took a bus from Sorrento to Rome to catch a few sights that we missed out on our super adventure. I added some pictures from our adventure in Rome on Wednesday and our day in Capri in the previous blogs.

Today I have spent much of the day walking and getting to know the Metro in Rome. I arrived early around 900 am and found a hotel for the night close to the termini so that in the morning I can hop a quick train to the airport. Then my adventures lead me to Vatican City. After adventuring on the Metro, I walked up to the vast walls of the City I was already amazed and was excited to venture inside the walls. The line was not something I was so excited about, but the time moved quickly as I read the background of the Vatican in my guidebook and met a group of tourists from Tennesse, Germany, and Canada. Inside the walls of the Vatican I found myself amazed at the detail of the artwork and architecture. Pictures just can not do it justice. I roamed for a long time catching various
Top of Spanish StepsTop of Spanish StepsTop of Spanish Steps

Wahoo! I walked up to the top! (Melissa)
statues, artwork, history and of course the Sistine Chapel. It is a very peaceful place despite the thousands of people looming around you.

Afterwards, a cafe break enjoying the people of Rome and tourists was needed followed by an adventure up the Spanish Steps. On the walk back to the hotel stopping to shop was absolutly necessary. I think I am having a nice dinner tonight to enjoy the true Italian expierence and relax, while trying to catch a few action pieces of the World Cup games.

Aliya and KJ planned to lay out by the hotel pool in Sorrento and then head off on some adventures to Pompei or the cool fishing village from the movie Under the Tuscan Sun.

More pictures will be added to the various blogs so make sure to check them out and thanks for all the comments, its nice to share my adventures!

Luv, Melissa


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

After the walk up the Spanish StepsAfter the walk up the Spanish Steps
After the walk up the Spanish Steps

A quick stop at the fountain


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb