Day 8: Arrival in Otronto for Artist Residency


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Apulia » Otranto
June 1st 2012
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My House in OtrantoMy House in OtrantoMy House in Otranto

The place I'll stay for 2 weeks!
Woke up at 6:00 am, packed, had the B&B breakfast of sweet cream pastry, pear juice and strong coffee. Managed to get my bag down the stairs and walked to the train station, about 5 blocks.



I saw my nice train agent and asked him again to help me remember my schedule. It went like this:



Gallipoli to Zollino: 9:25 – 10:03
Zollino to Maglie 10:07 – 10:18
Maglie to Otronto 10:19 – 10:45



You can see that I had 4 minutes for the first connection and 1 minute for the second. I wrote down the next trains because I did not expect to be able to drag my heavy suitcase out of one train, across tracks, and on to another train. Amazingly I MADE ALL THE CONNECTIONS! It was difficult to figure out which train was which since they had no numbers or names. I think it had to do with the track and the time.



The connection I did not make was with Paolo, who was going to help me find my apartment in the old town of Otronto. I bought a local phone card and finally
Living RoomLiving RoomLiving Room

Living Room of our house in Otranto
found a pay phone. After several combinations, I got the right numbers and area codes and got Paolo. I was in the wrong place! The store owner said I was at the gate of the castle but instead I was at the gate of the old town. So after an hour I tried Paolo again, and I sat on a bench under a tree and waited. There was a large sign blocking my view, and Paola was waiting on the other side. Poor lady!



I finally got into my apartment about 1:30. I can’t believe it! It is 2 stories. On the first is a laundry room and a small bedroom and bath. Upstairs in the main part… living room, dining room, full kitchen, 2 large bedroom, 2 baths, a lovely balcony where my laundry is now hanging! I will be sharing the apartment with Martha Bergman (Gamblin Paints).



The Marthe Keller and I took a quick swim in the ocean…. quite chilly but very refreshing! I unpacked and did my week’s worth of laundry, and hung it on the balcony to dry. I wandered around the town for several hours, finding my way.
Dinner at Paola'sDinner at Paola'sDinner at Paola's

First night dinner to meet and greet
I impulsively bought a huge red sunhat, so cute!!! I had a beer overlooking the harbor, and read for an hour. When I returned, Martha arrived and we talked. She is going to be a great roommate!!!



Dinner for the group was hosted by Paola, Martha and Dagmar, our BAU Institute staff members. We had chicken, salad, chopped greens (spinach?), mozzarella, tomatoes, and a wonderful lemon cake for dessert. There are 15 of us (2 Marys, 2 Julias, 2 Robertas and a Robert, and 2 Marthas). They are all painters except me.



Returned home and sat on our balcony with our wine. Great evening!



More Photos Below.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Dining RoomDining Room
Dining Room

Dining Room of our house in Otranto
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

kITCHEN of our house in Otranto
BedroomBedroom
Bedroom

Bedroomof our house in Otranto
BalconyBalcony
Balcony

Balcony of our house in Otranto
2nd bedroom2nd bedroom
2nd bedroom

2nd bedroom of our house in Otranto
Red flowersRed flowers
Red flowers

Love these flowers, but I donàt know what they are... wild, like poppies
Train TicketTrain Ticket
Train Ticket

Got the ticket to prove I actually made all the connections on this train trip!
Welcome PartyWelcome Party
Welcome Party

Paola's flat, great view of the water
Main DishMain Dish
Main Dish

Chicken grilled in olive oil with olives
Lemon CakeLemon Cake
Lemon Cake

Dagmar, administrative assistant for the residency, cuts the beautiful delicious lemon cake
LAUNDRYLAUNDRY
LAUNDRY

Necessary evils!


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb