Foreign-ness, shots, Rome, & school. A good combo?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Abruzzo
September 8th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

You know what I really love about being one of the only non-italians in my area. The fact that I can get anyway with ANYTHING. Simply just because of that fact that im a foreigner.
For example walking barefoot around Taremo yesterday. One of the most beautiful and captivating cities in the world, and I can say I walked barefoot around it. Oh Yeah!
Sure I was getting the most weirdest looks from EVERYBODY but I would just tell people its a perfectly normal thing in New Zealand.
I think that me having light blue eyes, white-ish skin(only compared to Italians!), and light brown hair is definitly an advantage because therefore people know that im a foreigner, and I can get away with anything I desire!

The other night we went to a little bar and guess what shots were only €1 each!! and I had to pay niente because I had guys offereing to pay for mine here and there, I wasnt complaining! Oh and everybody keeps asking me to do the haka, which damn it, im now regretting not having learnt it. Allora me and my host brother are going to look it up on the internet and try and memorise it. So if people ask me what I learnt in Italy, I can say, the HAKA, bro!

Went to Rome again in the weekend. For the Biana Notte - The white night. Basically an excuse for Romans to stay up all night and party. But what happens is, the shops and eateries are open all night, the museums are free, (and there was an INCREDIBLE Valentino exhibition), theres entertainment, and millions of people just flock to Rome. The streets were absouletely packed, ive never ever in my life seen so many people and you need to be very careful not to lose your friends otherwise thats it, you wont see them again. We got there at 6pm and stayed until 4am, and you do alot of walking, but its totally worth it because Bianca Notte alone is amazing experience let alone getting to see places like the Pantheon. Which just took my breath away.
By around 2am me and Marcia were both walking zombies and I was doing my best attempt EVER to keep my eyes open. It was a long night but I loved every minute of it!

So I started school today, finally
Many many peopleMany many peopleMany many people

2 and half million ROME-ing the streets
after being here in Italy for two weeks. Basically...It was awesome! Very nice teachers, even nicer students. Not alot of work gets done, which suits me fine. Its mainly just the students joking around. Those Italians are ALWAYS laughing, I love it. And by the end of the school day I was showing the whole class all the photos of clothes ive made on bebo.com.
As well as an invitation to go to a Pizzeria next Friday.
Anyway school finishes each day at 1.30pm which is cool-as because then you get to go home and have a nice big hot bowl of pasta, etc for lunch. And then have a seista(nap), which is what I did today except I only just woke up now at 6 o'clock.
Im feeling very Italiano right now!
The only downside to finishing school at 1.30pm is that we also have school on Saturday. But actually that doesnt really bother me because after school you've still got most of the day free to go out in the afternoon and night. So you dont lose much.

La Bella Vita!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Cheers to Rome!Cheers to Rome!
Cheers to Rome!

And dont worry Mum, you know I dont like beer
The main Dolce and Gabbana boutiqueThe main Dolce and Gabbana boutique
The main Dolce and Gabbana boutique

Oh yeah, This fashionista is in heaven
Walking the streets of MontesilvanoWalking the streets of Montesilvano
Walking the streets of Montesilvano

That was one hell of a fun day
Hi-5 Daffy!Hi-5 Daffy!
Hi-5 Daffy!

My main bro at the Warner Village
Two VERY hypo girlsTwo VERY hypo girls
Two VERY hypo girls

Con amica Laura


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb