My first month in heaven


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Abruzzo » Pescara
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dude making wineDude making wineDude making wine

This here is my host dad's uncle in the process of making wine. Is that cool or what!?
Well today its exactly a month since I arrived in Italia!
And what an incredibly awesome, and emotional month its been. I feel like ive seen and done so many things already.
And im very happy to say that im nearly adjusted to the Italian way of life.
The scary driving,
the sleeping hours(or basically the hours that you dont sleep),
the food,
and in general the difference of the society,
because as ive said many times, its incredibly different to little ol' NZ.
But of course.. I still walk around barefoot, all the time.
Including yesterday during my two hour walk home from school.
New Zealand represent!

So last night I went out to a restourant with my brother and his mates. I had an AWESOME time. Everyone always wants to talk to me and ask me questions. Its cause they have never ever met a Kiwi before, and obviously foreigners arent that common around here, so I think its an exciting occasion when they met me.
Anyway Italian guys are really lovely. And not just sleezy, I know thats what everyones preconceived conception is.
Its not true, they are incredibly friendly, nice guys.
So at the restourant I
At a bar for happy hour...At a bar for happy hour...At a bar for happy hour...

In the middle of the day
had soo many guys in my face all wanting to talk to me, it was a bit otherwhelming. And they all spoke pretty good English.
See they say they only speak a little but those 18-19years really know their language, and are obviously intelligent. So im always talking to everyone in english. and trust me I tell them, 'Speak in Italian to meeee!!' but no.
I think they love the fact that they have opportunity to try out their English.

Well today was incredible. I went to my host Dad's family's house for lunch, and whoa I ate sooo much.
I really was stuffed to the max!
And still am.
We had 6 courses!!!! including wine to start, dessert wine towards the end and then a shot of coffee to finish it off.
It was awesome though, being with a true Italian family, doing the whole eating too much food thing. I really am a true Italiano now!
And whats got me very very excited, is that I can understand HALF of what everyone is saying!!!!!!!!
I know that proberly sounds like nothing to be too excited about, but for bein here for only a month thats a pretty
Dinner at my casaDinner at my casaDinner at my casa

Yes my head does look hilarious. I know
good accomplishment. And I love the fact that everything doesnt just sound gibberish anymore. I do have to concentrate, but the language is definitly not so exhausting. and I can speak quite good now, without too much thought.
and WOW its an feeling of self-satisfaction!!
Ohh and the family was absouletely lovely, and of course they wanted to know all about me and New Zealand. And I did a pretty good job talking to them in my Italiano. Yay!
Before we went their we also went to my host dad's aunty's farm. And whoa!! that place was incredible, they had millions and millions of vines of grapes for their homemade wine. they make their own tomato sauce, dry their own figs, peppers, make their own olive oil. Everything! I was in heaven, it was an amazing sight, that mum I wish you could of seen it, cause it truly was breath taking.
They grow everything!! and it was soo fresh and healthy, I was in heaven!! haha. And we got to walk away with a HUGE bag of grapes, which ive already nearly eaten my way through half. muahaha.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Julia and LuliaJulia and Lulia
Julia and Lulia

I think ive found my Italian equivilent!
Lastly a photo of meLastly a photo of me
Lastly a photo of me

Cause you love me <3 hehe


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb