Ireland's West Coast


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Dingle Peninsula
October 19th 2008
Published: October 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love that I'm in Dingle. The name makes me laugh.

Last night was hilarious. I drank way too much, but had a wonderful time talking to the locals, dancing, listening to incredible live music and getting lost to AND from the bar.

The night began in O'Connors pub in Killarney. Full of local farmers (we'd been previously warned about how lonely they may be!) and far cheaper beer than Dublin. Our tour guide gave us a scale on how to figure out if said locals would be up for buying us girls a drink; ask what kind of tractor they drive. If it's a Massey, not a chance. Ford or John Deere, they'll probably spring for a pint. BUT if it's a Lambourghini (sp?) you're SET and he'll maybe even make you breakfast in bed.

The hilarious thing was, every guy we asked drove a Massey.

There was much souvenir-acquiring (someone's garage key/necklace/shirt) and the tourist barriers slowly came down and we all had a really great night just hanging out. Putting 35 people together on a bus is one thing. Letting them loose on a small Irish town fueled by adventure and alcohol after a day on said bus is something else entirely. It was one of those nights I would refer to as "touched". Just good all-around. They're becoming more frequent the longer I'm over here, which is lovely.

2 other girls and I managed to get a ride back to the hostel with a wedding singer (I kid you not), and 7:30 am came veerrrrry early thismorning. I didn't really feel well until about 5:00 thisafternoon, but self-induction warrants no sympathy.

Thismorning saw us taking a walk through beautiful Killarney National Park, regardless of the gale-force winds and rain. Then we headed into Dingle, with hopes of going to see Funge (sp!) the dolphin. Alas, the waves were too unsteady, the weather too forceful. I actually breathed a small sigh of relief, as I'm sure I would not have felt well out in a boat.

We killed some time in Dingle which is a very nice coastal town with lots of pubs and brightly painted houses. Then we got back on the bus and went around the Dingle Peninsula, but it was so cloudy/rainy/misty that we couldn't really see anything....and I've seen pictures, it's stunning. Ah well, such is Ireland. We did visit the most fantastic beach and got some sweet pictures there, cannot wait to put them up here.

Tonight we're at the Rainbow Hostel just outside of Dingle. Super deluxe, and actually just the way I would probably set up a hostel. Everyone else has gone into the village tonight, but I'm giving it a miss and waiting for my blood transfusion which should be arriving directly. ; )

Today's been great, and I really do feel like I've been travelling with these people for longer than 24 hours. I guess that happens.

As for Ireland, it has--as I knew it would--completely redeemed itself outside of Dublin's walls. I can't describe the beauty of its countryside, the humour and humbleness of its locals. Completely enchanting....

Advertisement



19th October 2008

Breakfast in Bed
Lambourghini makes tractors?? What the hell am I doing with a John Deere!!!
23rd October 2008

LOL!
Loving this story...of course they all drove a Massey...and definitely on board with the hillarity of the name DINGLE...too funny!

Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb