Forever altered


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
October 21st 2008
Published: October 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am recovering from the most amazing night ever.

I love Galway.

We went to the Quay pub last night to see live music, hoping to mix with locals and to drink lovely fresh Guinness.

The music was unreal. 4 guys who just kept playing one amazing trad hit after another. I asked them if they could play "Star of the County Down", but not all of them knew it. The singer asked where I was from, and the next thing I knew they were dedicating a set to me, their friend from Ontario. "Black Velvet Band" and "The Irish Rover" are probably two of my dependable favourites, and I sang along to every word.

Amazing.

I can't type more, I literally have to get on a bus and then a ferry to the Aran islands.

If you ever want the real thing, go to Galway.

Advertisement



21st October 2008

Music
Black Velvet Band is certainly up there on the list, When Irish Eyes are Smiling is my number one, and of course, Merri Mac (sp?). Glad you're having so much fun, you still have a lot of adventures ahead ;)
21st October 2008

one of my fav;s
in banbridge town in the county down one morning in last july maybe ill sing you the rest if you ever get home(imean back to canada)
27th October 2008

Aran Island
Galway is great and so is Killarney. Makes me sad now that I'm back in the states going to local bars after enjoying many nights at Quay's and King's Head in Galway. What a beautiful country, super friendly people and amazing beer ... did you try any Kilkenny beer? I enjoy the Aran Island cliffs more so than Cliffs Of Moher. On the main island is Ti Joe Mac, a great pub for the locals ... or try The American Bar just down the hill. Can't wait to read more!!!

Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb