Ballinasloe and plans


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
May 15th 2012
Published: May 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ballinasloe


May 15 - Tuesday eve - After visiting a bit and eating twice I went and took an exploratory walk around Ballinasloe. I took some pictures of the house my mother grew up in and of the church she attended. Their house was right next to the church and I remember her telling me about the bell ringing in the morning and evening. Behind the house was a stable and a garden. They used to get free tickets to the circus each year since the circus animals used their back yard for access to the River Suck to water their animals.

There had been beautiful weather at first when I arrived in Ballinasloe, then it rained, then it got beautiful again but colder. My cousin has a nice cozy home and we visited in the kitchen while drinking tea and I showed them some family pictures I had scanned and put on my computer. We are planning on going to the Aran Islands and Dun Aengus on Wednesday and Donegal to visit family on Thursday.

Depending on how spry we feel after getting back from the Aaran Islands we may attend a traditional music session at one of the local pubs tonight at 10.

http://www.aranislands.ie/Inis-Mor-Main-Attractions/dc3ban-aonghasa-world-heritage-site_35.html

http://aranislands.galway-ireland.ie/dun-aengus.htm


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Christy's houseChristy's house
Christy's house

My cousins house where I am staying while I am in Ballinasloe.
Back o house my mother grew up inBack o house my mother grew up in
Back o house my mother grew up in

This is the back of the house my mother grew up in. The grassy area is where the garden used to be and the building on the left was a stables for the horse.
Pub that has traditional Irish musicPub that has traditional Irish music
Pub that has traditional Irish music

An Tain pub has a very good traditional music session on Wednesdays. They also give out free chicken and chips.


Tot: 0.461s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb