Greetings from Galway!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
May 17th 2014
Published: May 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The BurrenThe BurrenThe Burren

Oh look, rocks!
After a very eventful and busy first days, I finally have the opportunity to share them with you!

First stop was breakfast at the Castle of Bunnratty. At this time, I became very thankful for the rain jacket I brought with me. After shopping at the gift shop (get excited, mom), we left for the Cliffs of Moher. Sadly, weather was not on our side Wednesday and about all we saw were mist and fog at a very high altitude. Any calories consumed on my flight were quickly burned off by the scenic hike along the trails. At one a point, a family of cows were frolicking next to us. I felt one with nature, really.

The Burren was our next stop. Before our arrival, our professor described it as nothing less than a nature phenomenon and a "moonscape."

It was literally just miles of flat, creviced rocks...

Anyway, we then arrived to our hostel in Galway. A hostel is a form of lodging for travelers. It falls a couple steps short of a hotel - with bunk beds, common and kitchen areas. With 10 girls with only 2 plug outlets and one bathroom, it was nothing
GalwayGalwayGalway

Feeling artsy...forever the most lovely city.
short of a miracle we left this morning casualty-free.

But hey, there was free Wi-Fi, so no complaints.

After a lovely welcome dinner, we proceeded to go out on the town as the locals do. After all, it's important while we are here to fully immerse ourselves in Irish culture and way of life.

And let me tell you, after enjoying European clubs and other night spots, I never want to step in an American club again. My expectations for cleanliness and manners are now far too high.



On Thursday, the weather couldn't have been more beautiful. A few of us girls took a morning walking tour of the city led by our new local friend (more on him later). We then embarked on yet another walking tour with our study abroad group. Again, any and all calories consumed during this trip so far have been burned off by all this walking. No wonder Europeans are so thin.



The rest of the day included shopping, authentic fish and chips (jealous Dad?), and an Irish dance show - all of which were spectacular.



Yesterday, we took a ferry to
The girlsThe girlsThe girls

The girls and I exploring Galway
the Aran Islands located right off the coast.

Never have I ever seen been to such a beautiful and peaceful place. Some of the best conversations I've had on this trip were with elderly locals. Never have I been to a place where the air is so pure and clean. The grass is so green. The people are so nice. I may never leave (don't worry I'm just kidding, mom). A piece of my heart will always be in Galway.



Next stop...Dublin!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Ivy LeagueIvy League
Ivy League

At one of Galway's universities. JU, take notes on this architecture.
Dun AonghasaDun Aonghasa
Dun Aonghasa

Living on the edge.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb