Slow Galway Weekend.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
April 12th 2008
Published: April 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What an enjoyable weekend. I planned on getting some homework done (but isn't that always the case?), but it was such a beautiful day who could stay in doing homework? Anna and I went the dock behind the apartment to watch the day go by. We took some books out with us and relaxed by the water for a few hours, reading, talking and daydreaming.
Later that afternoon, I went over to Erin's apartment to watch the big Galway vs. Clare hurling match. Ten minutes into the game we were screaming at the television, cheering for Galway. They lost, unfortunately, but it was the first hurling game I had ever watched. Surprising how quickly we got sucked into the madness of that sport!
Afterwards Lauren came down with her violin and played some tunes for us. Erin, Jennifer and I whipped out our tin whistles and improvised together. Erin knew a simple step of Irish dancing so she spent a little while teaching us. We got just a little carried away that evening, I think.
Sunday was really nice. My friends and I decided to walk to Salthill, the famous promenade on Galway Bay. It's a picturesque boardwalk, slightly touristy, but nice. We stopped at the Waterfront Restaurant for dinner which was really peculiar. There was this ridiculous band playing really bad American hair band covers (Let's just say I wasn't a fan of Van Halen at home, let alone abroad.)
Lastly, I made my reservations for Venice! First trip, and hopefully not the last, to Italy! Let the excitement ensue...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb