Apartment!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
May 10th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sarah's Hot Chocolate at West Co. CoffeeSarah's Hot Chocolate at West Co. CoffeeSarah's Hot Chocolate at West Co. Coffee

It is a marshmallow in the middle
08 May 06
Today was a very exciting day! It started off with me getting registered as an immigrant. Talk about a bad picture on my id card that I got it! lol Sarah, Jay and I left at ~8:30am to go over. We only waited about an hour and a half and we were told if we went later on in the day then it would be a 3-4 hour wait! After that we went to the USIT office (they are the ones who deal with SWAP) and printed off some resumes or CV's. Then off to the Internet cafe to look for jobs. We could have stayed at the USIT office especially since the computers are free but you only have 1/2 hour on them and then you have to let someone else use it. It was just more convenient to pay and be able to stay on as long as you want. So the 3 of us went there and applied for some more jobs online. I had an appointment to look at an apartment at 2, so after we went to a cafe and had a coffee. As you can see from the picture, there was another design in it. I think almost everyday we have gone to a new coffee shop. Bewely's has been my favorite so far though.
Ne ways so I went to look at this apartment (Sarah and Jay came with me) and it was soo nice!! Even Sarah and Hay were impressed. So after I looked at it I told her that I would give her a call within the next few days to let her know if I would take it or not. 5 min later.. I was still in the apartment building (on my way out) and after talking to the girls about it, I called her (Katarina) back and told her that I was going to take it! so I HAVE AN APARTMENT!! 😊
Another girl was still living there and she told me that she would give me a call later to let me know when this girl would move out. That was the excitement in my day.. the rest of the stuff wasn't too interesting.
After we left, we decided not to hand out resumes because it was poring rain. So we decided to leave it till tomorrow. We then split up. They went back home and I went back to the internet cafe. There Katarina called me and told me that I could move in the next day!!
I met up with Jay and Sarah at 5:30 for supper! Finally my first Irish meal! I know its taken me like a week but I had it eventually. We all had Irish Stew. It was alright. I'm not a huge fan of stew but both the other girls like it and they said that it was one of the best stews that they had ever tasted.
Later that night I went out to this bar with some guys from the hostel. Kieran who is British, James who is Australian and Matt who is Canadian! It was a good night! Very relaxing! This bar was awesome though. I tried to take pictures but they never came out; it was too dark. so you'll have to put up with my horrible explanation instead. The atmosphere was almost like I was in Indian and Egypt and wherever they have palm trees. When you walked in there were statues of phoenixes and then the bar and lights was like I was in India and then outside there were palm trees. It is an interesting combination, but it looked very good together. Plus the drinks were reasonably priced.

09 May 06
MOVING DAY! I got up at 8:30 am and started getting my stuff together. Most of it wasn't that bad because it was still in the suitcase and backpack. It was just a few things there and there that I had used every day. A lady called me in the morning for a job interview while I was packing! It was for a call center. So I had to go in for the interview at 9:45 the next morning. While I was eating breakfast, a lady(Nessie) that was in the same room as me said she would take my resume and see if she could help me get a job ( she works with a recruitment office). Then while I was trying to get check out of the hostel and get my luggage sorted out, Nessie gives me a call and asks me if I wanted to go in for a typing test in 1/2 hour. I was so overwhelmed with trying to get out of the hostel that I told her I could do it tomorrow and I will giver her a call back to set up a time. After I hung up I realized that I didn't have her number. I ended up coming back to the hostel later that night and talking getting everything sorted out. I guess I just didn't want to leave there!
I had to be checked out by 10:30 so I was out of there by 10. I took a taxi up to the house because even though it wasn't that far away I still didn't want to travel all of that distance with my bags. Katarina came and opened the door for me and then I got to unpack!

The people I'm living with
I am sharing it with 3 other people: A couple and Katarina. The couple of from Czech and Katarina is from Slovakia. me and the guy took about 1/2 hour to try and figure out something that I could call him or more so pronounce. His name is JirĂ­, but now I call him Jirka. It is pronounced erka.(with a rolling r). His girlfriends name is Camoile. I still haven't met her because she is home right now until Friday. It kind of makes it hard where English is not their first language but they make a very good effort to speak it whenever I am around. Katarina has excellent English and Jirka I thought had good English but then he told me that he only knows a few words and he uses those words for everything. After I talked to him for a bit longer I could tell that he had some difficulties. I guess with me here, it will help him speak it even better. They both are very nice though.

The Apartment
There are 2 bedrooms. Jirka and Camoile's room and then I share a room with Katarina. You walk in through the door and the 2 rooms are on the left. The next room in the bathroom. It is really nice and big! The dryer is also in this room. You then walk into another room and there is the living room, dining room and kitchen. (the washer is in the kitchen. When I first saw it I thought it was a dishwasher!ha). Included in the price I get the use of the washer, dryer, Internet and cable. Plus it is in the city center and places tend to be a lot more expensive there. So all in all its an awesome place and its really good priced. Now all I need is a job..

One thing is they never gave me bedding so I had to go buy that. So Sarah and I went to Penny's seen as its very cheap. (Jay was working). Sarah also has a job too. So to celebrate me with my new house and the girls with their new job to make dinner. Jay didn't know this at the time and when we finally got a hold of her she said she was too tired to come over to my place (we're a good distance away from each other). So Sarah and I made dinner. We had pasta with a meat sauce and French Bread! It was very good!
I also went shopping for groceries earlier and bought French bread and Camembert cheese!! mmm Bring back any memories Auntie Martha and Sara?? 😊
After I went to see Nessie and that was about the extend of my day! I then got to sleep in my new bed but I realized that I bought a flat sheet instead of a fitted sheet so I had to sleep on top on the comforter.

10 May 06
Today I had my first job interview! It was in East Point Business Park at Conduit which is a call center. First of all I had no clue how to get there, but from the little instructions that the lady over the phone had told me I managed to get there just in time. It was pretty far away though, taking away the time that I was "exploring" it took me 45 min to get there. It was a big interview. There were 20 people there for the interview. It was a long process though. It went from 9:45-12:30. They first told us a bit of information about the company and then we had to do a spelling test(Don't laugh mom, I actually think I did well on that) and a geography test. I think the rest of the day went well but this geography test would have messed up my chances I think. I had to know the county's of Dublin, Ireland, England, Wales and Scotland. so seen as I never have studied that before it wasn't the greatest part of the test.
Then all of us were brought down to the cafeteria where we went into different groups and either did a typing test, one on one interview or listened in on some of the calls in the calling center. These 2 things I think I did really good on and it was very interesting listening on on the calls! The job seemed like it would be pretty good but if I ever got the job and my geography skills came in then I don't think I would take it. Its just too far away and I only would get 8 Euro/hour. which is alright. The min wage here is 7.65.
A girl that I was taking to during the interview offered me a ride home because she was coming this way so it saved me from the train ride home! I was very grateful for that! She was very nice but I have no clue what her name was. She knew mine but I think it was because she heard someone call out my name and then she remembered it. I felt bad after she called me my name so I couldn't ask her what hers was.
After I went to the bank to get the rest
My roomMy roomMy room

My bed is the one on the left
of the money for the rent and then I had to go do a typing test for the recruitment office that Nessie worked at. When I first got there the doors were all bared up so I figured they were on lunch, so I went and exchanged the sheets. When I came back the doors were still bared up and then I realized that you just have to walk around the corner and there is a door. So all in all my brain wasn't working right. I was told I did well on the test except word wasn't the greatest. I was a little surprised at that since I use word all of the time. I did better on excel and that program I never use. I also got 3% error on my typing. I was suppose to go into an interview after that but the lady was in a conference meeting at the time so I have to go back tomorrow at noon. On the way home I stopped off at Dublin castle. It is right in the middle of the city and very close to where I am living. When you first look in its very odd because it has been painted different colours, but the inside is suppose to be still old. The gardens looked beautiful. It would be nice to sit there in an afternoon. It would be very relaxing. I then came back and relaxed around the house and did the laundry. Do do a wash here it takes sooo long!! Around 80 min in the min amount of time that it will take! It is ridiculous. I don't understand why it takes so long when back home it can take like 20 min. And to dry my 3 towels it took just about 2 hours. The actual machines look totally different too. It is very weird.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

The kitchenThe kitchen
The kitchen

Notice the washer
A gospel Choir outside of Stephens Green MallA gospel Choir outside of Stephens Green Mall
A gospel Choir outside of Stephens Green Mall

It was for Europe Day. They were really good!
Dublin Castle- Bermingham TowerDublin Castle- Bermingham Tower
Dublin Castle- Bermingham Tower

There tower is seen right when you walk in the entrance on Ship Street.
Dublin Castle- The State ApartmentsDublin Castle- The State Apartments
Dublin Castle- The State Apartments

On The next diary you can see inside the apartments. They were built as the residential and public quarters of the Viceregal Court. They were the seat of the executive and focus of fashionable and extravagant social life.
Dublin Castle- Dubh Linn GardensDublin Castle- Dubh Linn Gardens
Dublin Castle- Dubh Linn Gardens

It is from the sheltered dark pool, dubh linn that occupied this area from ancient times that Dublin gets its name.


Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb