Starting Job/House Hunting


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
May 5th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

May 03/May 04
There hasn't been anything interesting over the past 2 days so I'm combining the 2 days into one. One of the major things that I have learned is to make sure that your adaptor for electric appliances has a control for the amount of voltage that is going through the appliance. I turned on my hair dryer and the next thing I know there is a burning smell comming from it. So I look at it and the coils inside are bright red, so I think they were a bit too hot. So I don't know if I'll be using my hairdryer and straightener while I'm here.
Geoff, Ashley (his girlfriend also from St. John's) and Paul (Geoff and Ashley's roomate now who is from England) started talking about getting a place between the 4 of us. Geoff, Ashley and I started looking for places on the internet yesterday and we ended up going to look at a place. The area of town seemed nice, it was just out of the city center which was nice because there would have been a lot of irish people there and not just people from else where around the world like in the hostel. But there were some problems with it 1. it was a very far walk and after each work day I don't think I would want to be walking that. 2. the entrance going into the backyard had boards on it and one of them was punched in with broken beer bottles all around . so all in all it just wasn't that good. It is very hard to find 3 bedroom places around here. It is mostly just 1 or 2 bedroom places. and 4 bedrooms is pretty much out of the question.
When we were waiting for the agent. This little boy maybe about 8 goes up to Ashley and tells her that she is sexy! what the nerve eh! Kids back home would never talk to people like that.. well atleast at that age. And from what I've heard a lot of kids have a lot of nerve and thats not unusual!
Besides those 2 thats about all the excitment that I had over those past 2 days. Besides that Iworked on re-arranging my resume to the format that they like to have here. I don't know if I already said this but CV's (resume) have to be atleast 2 pages here.

May 05
Today I had my orintation, so it was the first day that I made it to breakfast. They served toast and cereal... all of the normal breakfast foods. The orientation was pretty good. They gave some useful information about the insurance number that you have to get so the gov't only takes 20%!t(MISSING)ax off instead of 42%!!(MISSING) Besides that it wasn't too useful. But there was a lot of Canadians there. I guess Ireland is the place to be. 2 of the girls are staying at the same hostel as me, so I think we are all going out for some drinks tonite in Temple Bar which is like George St. back home.. just not all on one street. For most of the day I'be been sitting in the internet cafe applying for jobs and searching for more places to live. Hopefully something soon will come up!

Advertisement



6th May 2006

converters
hahaha yhea I fried my hotpot!
7th May 2006

:)
Love you! miss you! wish you the best! xoxox

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb