Day 1: Traveling and Arriving


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
June 30th 2014
Published: July 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

In March I decided to go on a journey to England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland for a month. Sunday morning I arrived at the airport around 7:30 for my 9:30 flight to Charlotte. We landed around 12:00 Eastern and my connecting flight from Charlotte to Dublin took off at 6:40. So I spent six hours in the airport waiting and absolutely bored. Finally when it was time to board, I got on the flight and waited for another hour before we could take off. Most of the way, the weather was really bad and the plane shook around. Although it was a bad flight, me and the girl sitting next to me, Michelle, talked for most of the 8 hour flight. We hit it off really well and exchanged emails. When we arrived in Dublin, it was 8:00 A.M. My first sight of Dublin was huge hares just frolicking in the green grass while planes took off around them. It was pretty cool. Customs took forever to get through and I had trouble finding my bus. Luckily, I asked a couple of people who were able to point me in the right direction. Apparently I was supposed to press the stop button when it was my stop, but I didn’t know how to tell if it was my stop because, well I’ve never been to Dublin before. By the grace of God, I was able to get off at my stop and find my hostel after wandering around trying to figure out what street I was on. Since I was super early and check-in wasn’t until 3:00, I put my stuff up in a locker and joined a free walking tour at my hostel. It was so sunny and did not rain at all, which they say happens four days a year. I ended up being there 3 out of the four sunny days a year! We ended up walking all over the city for four hours. The tour was really fun and I learned so much about the city of Dublin. They have had so much trouble trying to gain their independence from Britian and it only happened recently. The tour company was called Hostelculture and the tour guide Ian was hilarious. We ended up getting free drinks in two pubs. We walked around and saw the Dublin Castle, Trinity College, the half penny bridge, and a bunch of other sites. When the tour was over, I decided to go see the Guinness Factory. Instead of taking a bus like a normal person, I just walked the whole way because I am too cheap. It ended up being way longer than I thought, and the whole building is like 7 stories tall. I really enjoyed my day in Dublin and cannot wait for my tour tomorrow to the Cliff’s of Moher. Needless to say I am super tired and ready to go to sleep even if it is only 7. The next entries will be better I promise!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



6th July 2014

Great Start
Great start Alexis. Wish we'd known about the free walking tour, since we also stayed in that hostel. Maybe they didn't have it then. Keep those blogs coming

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb