Dublin 29Aug


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
August 29th 2009
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DublinDublinDublin

Molly Malone Statue
Today was another amazing day. I bought my ticket for a Castle and Dublin Bay tour combined with a full day of hop on hop off travel around Dublin. As I had 1 hr to wait, I headed up O'Connell St to get my bearings for the Airlink bus back to the airport tomorrow. I then walked across town to Oscar Wilde's house, and to spend some quiet moments in Merrion Square (parkland/garden). Just lovely. Early in the morning there were no one else around, and they day was crisp and clear. Wandered back to the bus stop and headed off to Malahide Castle and Gardens. Did the tour of the castle, and continued the bus tour along the Dublin coast. Many interesting stops along the way. I got back to Dublin city and rejoined the yellow bus tour. Did a tour of St Patricks Cathedral, viewed Christ Church Cathedral and Dublinia (Vikings).

Rejoined the bus tour and went out to the Guinness Stonehouse. This would have to be one of the best presentations I have seen so far. they make 300,000 pints of Guiness a day, and that is just for Europe. On the 5th floor you get instruction
DublinDublinDublin

Molly Malone Statue (the tart with the cart)
and opportunity to pull your own pint. I did mine with a shamrock design in the head. I know what your thinking, bit of a scam, but I have the certificate to prove it!. I rejoined the bus tour (the last bus - lucky for me) and got back to city centre.

All in all a fantastic finish to a lovely town. Will find a local place in my book of places to go, and sample one last authentic meal. Last night I went to Ron Blacks for a jar, and onto Harrys for an amazing two course meal.

Next entry will be from Paris. Until then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

DublinDublin
Dublin

Malahide Castle
DublinDublin
Dublin

Malahide Castle
DublinDublin
Dublin

St Patricks Cathedral
DublinDublin
Dublin

Guinness Storehouse - pint of guinness I pulled, including shamrock design


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb