The Guiness is WAY better in Ireland!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! Well I made it to Ireland and am currently in Dublin. It's amazing here. The streets are all cobblestone and the buildings are so old, it's gorgeous. I checked into my hostel yesterday after I got here and took a nap. I woke up to a small Irish band playing jigs outside my window. I don't think it could get much better than that. I met a few really cool girls in my hostel, two from Australia, one from the states (Ohio) and another from Canada. The hostels aren't bad, I feel like I'm back in college with the bunk beds and community bathrooms (aw miss you Jeffener!!) It's weird sharing a small room with 6 people you don't know, but I was lucky enough to have cool people to share mine with. A few of us actually went out together last night to Dublin's famous Temple Bar. It was a great time! We met some guys from New Zealand and just bar hopped with them all night. I didn't get in until like 4 a.m....cause that's what time the bars close...not bad for a first night! I am looking forward to heading west though, because Dublin is VERY touristy. I actually have yet to meet anyone from Ireland lol. The next two places I'm going are much less tourist focused so hopefully I'll meet some locals and get to experience the culture. It was so weird going into the bars last night and hearing Journey's Don't Stop Believing (Katie I thought of you and HH!!!) and Bryan Adams summer of '69. I actually felt like I was in Boston last night, not Ireland. Which kinda sucks, considering I did just travel for 19 hours to get here!! Not to mention that Dublin is EXPENSIVE!! A cup of coffee is like 2 euros, which is equivilent to almost $4!!! And a Guiness is like 5 euros (almost $10!!!) But it wasn't too hard to find some nice foreign boys to buy us beers 😊 And I will have to say that something about having a Guiness in Ireland makes it taste much better than back home (maybe it's just the idea) I haven't really eaten much of the local cuisine but I hear the oysters here are great, and since I haven't ever tried them, and niether has one of the girls I met, we are going to go out tonight for dinner for our first oyster experience. It should be interesting. The weather is really cool here. It's only like 60. They call this summer!!??? I definately couldn't live here!!! It's pretty gray and dreary as well. Kinda depressing. After a week here, I will definately be looking forward to sunny Spain. Which reminds me that I have to book my flight for that while I'm at a computer. I hope everyone is doing well! Send me messages! Missy I'm sorry I didn't call you...I'm an awful friend and I will call you this week, I PROMISE!!! I miss everyone! Talk to you soon!

Advertisement



19th July 2008

HEY!
Hey girl! glad to hear you made it to ireland safe....im so jealous it sounds so fun! enjoy yourself and miss you!
19th July 2008

hey
hey girl..i dont know if my other comment posted but just wanted to say hi and im glad u made it safe out there! miss u and im so jealous in my homeland! :) have a blast
20th July 2008

Katie...
Hello my love! Yes, I got your comments, they just don't post until I accept them. I am having an AMAZING time and I miss you like crazy!! How's Boston treating you? When do you go back to Tampa? I just booked my flight to Spain for next week....Barcelona here I come! Miss and Love you!!!
20th July 2008

checking daily
sounds great so far. think of you every couple of hours and know you will have the time of your life. wish I was there. LOVE
20th July 2008

Ahhh I can't believe your actually there! It sounds amazing and I'm jealous. Keep the updates coming and have sooooo much fun!!
21st July 2008

So excited for you
So happy you made it there safely and already made friends!! Thinking of you constantly and so excited for your adventures to come! :)
26th July 2008

:)
It's okay i just wanted to say goodluck and that I miss you!!

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb