Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Dublin yesterday afternoon from London. It's a very nice very european city...in that most of it's residents/tourists seem to be from other european countries besides Ireland. At least in the center. The Irish-ness seemed to increase outside of city center. But I had to walk quite a ways to find the local thrift store and a real butcher. My hostel has a nice kitchen, so I've been economically recreating things I read on Irish menus.

I'm just back from the Evensong service at St. Patrick's cathedral. It was probably one of the highlights of the day. It featured the musical talent of the St. Patrick's choir, who were great, and it was free. I can't ask for much more. If you don't go to a service you have to pay something like five euro to tour the church. But it is much more pleasant to attend a service. I also very much enjoyed lazing around in the sun in St. Stephen's green park and St. Patrick's park. It's been amazing weather, the museum attendant at the National Gallery this morning said they hadn't seen anything like it. I guess all this sunshine is rare for early May. I also toured around Trinity College this morning. I wonder how the students feel about having hoards of toursists on their campus everyday.

Last night I went to hear some 'traditional Irish music' at a pub in the touristy area. It was really nice music, and it is true that the Guinness is much better here than at home. It is much smoother. But tonight I think I'm going to try to venture out to somewhere slightly less touristy. I won't be out to late though as I'm catching a bus tomorrow morning to Galway and then the ferry to the Aran Islands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb