Blue Lagoon Experience - Iceland


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
September 6th 2009
Published: December 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm not sure how much exactly I had stayed awake, the flight from Hong Kong was just too long and have been vomitting badly for the whole 13 hours flight to London Heathrow, when I reached Rekjavik it was next day evening.

The capital, used to be one of the most expensive city in the world in terms of living standard - before the financial crises.

Before I came to this country, I heard that everything is so cheap, currency has been slumped more than 60% since 2008, however, Iceland is still expensive even compares for European standards.

We arrived Keflavik Airport in late afternoon where the last airport bus to the city, was waiting for all passenger on our flight. So I had to purchase my shuttle ticket quickly and exchange the money that I need. The airport is 35km form the city, the journey into the town was an good introduction to this cold place.

We checked in the hostel belongs to HI Association that we have booked well ahead, 2 km away from the city and was very impressive, considered that I paying only US$28, we prvided with clean bed, linen, free wifi, nice cafeteria, an extensive travel helpdesk. We greeted by a young reception lady, she is Canadian internship and was so kind and helpful, who gave us a double room instead of mixed dorm without any extra charge.

The downtown area is very compact and cute, and the first impression of the city gave me was, most Icelanders are more beautiful than most of the Europeans, people dress fashionably, great manner, most impressed was everyone speaks perfect English - Japanese should really be ashamed, when it comes to foreign language, they make no effort at all.

Since we were so tired on the day we came and we slept quite early and we start our day quite early next morning, and we found out it was still dark until 10am, so we bought 3 DAYS REKJAVIK CARD, a tourist pass includes unlimited rides on public transport, free entry to all museum, zoo and 7 thermo pool - cost me like - US$30-35 each for 3 days, if you find it useful, this is quite worth.

The following day, we went to one of the must do excursion of rewarding Blue Lagoon, and you can't leave Iceland without visiting the lagoon. The lagoon is located southern part of the city, as we approaching to the lagoon, I could see the steam rising from the ground next to us. The geothermal seawater with temperature of 38c-40c, is in sky blue colour, rich in minimals, and therefore very thick, it is quite impossible to swim around but the mud and water can soften the skin. This was a very amazing experience.

The Golden Circle is also one regular and must-do activity in Iceland. Without informing us and any reason, the driver first dropped us off at one of the unknown but famous power planet, introducing how they produce electricity with heat from the ground, it was 8am in the morning and I was so sleepy to listen his proud story but I was still listening while I was half sleeping. After that the real tour begins, it was freaky cold when I got off the bus next to the iced waterfall, the floor was slippery with shining ice, my fingers did not move properly, so I went straight to the cafeteria, and wait for the next place. When we arrive the great geysir, this was the thing I wanted to see and I felt so much warmer by the heat and hot spring water, but so much different from what I expected, I thought the water can blows up even higher, it was amazing thou, everyone WOW while it blows up every 10 minutes but not for me.

Weather was freezing, mainly -5c sometimes lower and I was wearing everything possible. Aurora cannot be seen because of the stupid clouds and fogs covering everywhere, I was so disapoointed.

The greatest thing about Iceland is the feeling of being safe, I heard this country has the lowest crime in the world. Overall was a amazing and absolutely different place I have ever been but way overpriced, and cold.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb