Budapest-Day 2


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
November 8th 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, woke up at 5 am and I can't sleep so might as well write an update on my Day 2. Storm clouds were there when I got up in the morning so decided to try to spend some time indoors seeing some museums. At the top of my list was the Museum of Fine Arts located at Heroes Square. The square is a very large open space with some monuments and museums on two sides, the Museum of Art and the Museum of Fine Arts. It is also adjacent to a huge city park which houses a castle which was created to reflect various architectural styles present in Hungary. Quite unique to see a castle like series of buildings with such varying styles on it. In fact, a bit confusing to the eye. A surprise was that the castle area houses the Jak Chapel which has an entry which is a replica of the church located in Lebeny, Hungary which is the church where my grandmother's family worshipped at for about a century. I had hoped to even visit the church on this trip but it's located in the northwest corner of Hungary, near Vienna, and the train does not go to Lebeny. Someday, I need to come back and rent a car and see it. The castle area is also home of a statue of Anonymous which I found very, very cool. Anonymous was the author of Hungarian history and it took several generations to uncover who he actually was.

The Museum of Fine Arts is very good for the area. It has several classics including some Da Vinci and Raphael. It's also home to some archaelogical finds which I always enjoy. Plus, you can take photos throughout the permanent collection with the purchase of a photo pass. They have a very good Egyptian collection for a museum of this size. They also had a temporary Egyptian collection also on display (no photos allowed there).

Good thing I was indoors because it was blowing and stormy looking all day and finally in the evening it rained and rained and rained. It started while I was enjoying a classical concert inside the St. Stephen's Basilica. Awesome acoustics there! Great ambience as well. Following that I went and had a late dinner and then settled in for the night. I have also found yet another metro system which is so incredibly easy to use to enjoy a city. In fact, the whole transit system of bus, electric train, tram and metro is so easy to use. Plus, my Budapest card makes it very convenient and quite affordable.

Not quite sure what I'm doing tomorrow due to weather. Tomorrow night, I hope to get some night photos of Parliament and the Chain Bridge as well after I get back.

That's it for now...posted a few more pictures as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Museum of Art Museum of Art
Museum of Art

Located opposite Museum of Fine Art
Museum of Fine ArtMuseum of Fine Art
Museum of Fine Art

Part of Egyptian Collection
Museum of Fine ArtMuseum of Fine Art
Museum of Fine Art

Mummified aligator


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.1138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb