I Left My Heart in Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
May 27th 2005
Published: June 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Budapest From AboveBudapest From AboveBudapest From Above

Taken from Gellert Hill on the Buda side of the Danube
I’ve been accused of sounding like Rick Steves in my blogs so I’m attempting to find a new writing voice. Bear with me….

This is absolutely my favourite stop!

Budapest just feels good. And I’m so sorry I didn’t have/make time for one of the bath houses that it is so famous for. Then again, visiting one of those may have ruined me for the other spa I frequent. Maybe this was a good thing…no…it wasn’t.

My first night in town I took advantage of an after-dark tour of the city. This included a trip to the top of Gellert Hill and afforded me the opportunity for a great night shot of the city from above. The place was packed though. A traffic jam of cars, people and tour buses. Luckily our tour director was there to play traffic cop.

The next morning we started with a tour of the city (back to the top of Gellert Hill) and then a lunchtime cruise on the Danube River. Once back on land, myself and some Australian friends decided it was a good time for coffee and cake at the Budapest Four Seasons (owned and operated by a Canadian company,
Budapest at NightBudapest at NightBudapest at Night

Taken from Gellert Hill on the Buda side of the Danube River
no less!). When we were through one of the hostesses gave us a tour of the hotel. It is really quite stunning. Next time I’m in Budapest I should stay there. :-) Better start saving now…

We spent the rest of the afternoon shopping and then had dinner just outside of the city where I had my first taste of Tokaj (Hungarian wine) but opted to skip the goulash.

Souvenir from Budapest: A new linen outfit.

Budapest rating: 11 out of 10
I will be back.

To see all my Budapest pics click here .



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

"Buda""Buda"
"Buda"

Buda side of Budapest
Budapest's ParliamentBudapest's Parliament
Budapest's Parliament

Found on the Pest side of the Danube
Prague to BudapestPrague to Budapest
Prague to Budapest

Had a lunchtime stop in Bratislava, Slovakia. Ate at McDonald's but didn't order the Royal with Cheese.


8th June 2005

Who is Rick Steves?
I guess I've never met Rick or read his blogs, but if I were to I'd say he sounds like you! Anyway, I'm glad to hear you've found a new favourite place. Wish us luck on Rideau Lakes this weekend, it's going to be HOT! Drapes - Drapes

Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb