Last Stop, Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 30th 2005
Published: June 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

A Viennese duckA Viennese duckA Viennese duck

My only souvenir from Vienna
Hello Happy People!

Here I am in Vienna; the last stop on my big holiday.

By this point in the trip the cold I had woken up with back in Prague is taking its’ toll and I'm really not feeling well. I'm certain I did not get as much out of my Vienna stop as I would have if I had been feeling better. All things considered, I think I got a taste of the city.

Dinner in the Vienna Woods where we sample the Heurigen (wine from the last grape harvest), a visit to Schonbrunn Palace and it’s gardens, a city tour with a stop St. Stephens Cathedral, it seems like so much already.

But, no, there’s more.

Shopping, where I bought nothing. I’m afraid my only souvenir from Vienna is the rubber ducky I swiped from my hotel bathroom.
;-)
This is a pretty good souvenir, I think. A Viennese duck.

Our last night we have dinner at Marchfelderhof, an interesting place to say the least. Followed by an evening of Chamber Music, Opera and Ballet at Palais Auersperg.

It was a sad farewell to my 40-odd new friends. I don’t want my vacation to end.

My last morning was an early one. I had foolishly booked an early train back to Heidelberg. A bleary good bye to my charming tour director in the hotel lobby and I sniffle off in a taxi to the train station.
A 7 hour train ride - one of the best naps I’ve ever had.

To see all my Vienna pics click here.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Schonbrunn Palace GardensSchonbrunn Palace Gardens
Schonbrunn Palace Gardens

The Gloriette and viewing terrace


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb