Achtung Baby! U2 in Gelsenkirchen


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Been there, done that, got the T-Shirt!

That’s right, friends. I went to the U2 concert in Gelsenkirchen. Ever heard of it? Me either, but apparently 60, 000 other people know where it is cuz they were all there too. I’ve never been in a stadium that big in my life. That in itself was an experience. One thing that was different from the stadium shows I’ve been to back home was all the people who go out to the stadium early to hang around the grounds for what seemed like a big tailgate party. I thought that was neat. The other thing I noticed is that when the show started, the entire crowd stood, and stayed standing for the entire show. Even up in the rafters where I was sitting.
The concert was super! For my friends who have tickets for their shows in Dublin and Ottawa…you’re gonna love it!
Special thanks to Blair for letting me use one of his tickets. Too bad you couldn’t make it. But you can read the review and check the set list if you like .


Not only did I spend an evening with 60, 000 of my closest friends
Inside AufSchalke StadiumInside AufSchalke StadiumInside AufSchalke Stadium

The stage and crowd
(it really did feel that way), I also spent the weekend in Düsseldorf.
It’s a pretty nice town. They have a shopping area (Königsallee) that is considered the “magnificent mile” of Europe and a very happening “Altstadt” where there are over 200 bars and restaurants.
If you go, try the altbier from one of the local brew houses.


To see all my U2 pics click here.
To see all my Düsseldorf pics click here.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.459s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.2004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb