Lost In Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 25th 2005
Published: June 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hradcany Castle and CathedralHradcany Castle and CathedralHradcany Castle and Cathedral

Taken from the "Lesser Town"
Hello Friends,

Just the trip from Berlin to Prague was an eventful one. We made a lunch stop in the beautiful city of Dresden before heading for the Czech Republic boarder crossing. Upon arrival at the boarder we heard that an accident just on the other side had closed the highway. Rather than wait we turned the bus around and headed for another boarder crossing. This ride took us through narrow and winding roads in the Eastern German countryside. It was an added treat to our journey.

Now that I’ve been to Prague I understand why it’s one of the most visited cities in the world. It is a postcard picture from every angle. Our city tour takes us to the Hradcany Castle and St. Vitus Cathedral. Then a walk through the city’s Jewish quarters before heading to the Old City Hall and the Old Town Square for the 11AM show at the famous Astronomical Clock (watch your pockets here). A lunch time cruise on the Vltava River and we’re free to roam the web of streets and allies of the city.

According to my research, the items one shops for in the Czech Republic are crystal and garnets. My souvenir from Prague? A garnet necklace. I was a little unsure of the Czech Koruna exchange rate, and now that I have my credit card bill I realize I could have afforded a bigger stone! Guess I’ll just have to go back.

If you go, I highly recommend you visit the Chain Bridge Tower. The view of both the old and new parts of the city, as well as the bridge itself is spectacular.

Stay tuned for my next stop…Budapest.


To see all my Prague pics, click here .


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Prague's Astronomical ClockPrague's Astronomical Clock
Prague's Astronomical Clock

Keeping accurate time for more than 6 centuries. Here you can see the hourly mechanical show, "The Walk of the Apostles"
Charles Brigde From the TowerCharles Brigde From the Tower
Charles Brigde From the Tower

Tourists, artists and souvenir sellers fill the bridge
Tyn's ChurchTyn's Church
Tyn's Church

In the Old Town Square
View up the Vltava RiverView up the Vltava River
View up the Vltava River

Taken from Charles Bridge Tower
Old Town SquareOld Town Square
Old Town Square

Taken from the Old Town Hall


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb