Budapest (Round 2)


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
May 30th 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Turkish BathTurkish BathTurkish Bath

Pool Area
After a great sleep (I was the only person in my room 😊), and seeing that the weather had changed for the worst (in other peoples mind anyway, I actually enjoyed the cooler change it gave me more energy for sightseeing) I decided to go and do a 3 hour city tour. The tour was great but I was the only person on it that was under 50 so i felt a little isolated at first. But the big and loud yanks were soon all over my aussie accent and brought me into their 'group'. We obviuosly saw all the sights of buda and pest and got a detailed description of their history. The Hungarians are a little like us aussies, as they dont really have a pure heritage/culture. They are a mixture of the many different races/groups that had occupied the land in their complex and confusing past. But unlike some us Aussies, they are all very proud of it all (in particular they are proud that they are still here living and occupying the land that they have had to fight for many, many times). After the tour it was back to the hostel for more rest however once again I met more people who dragged me out partying. We went to this quiant bar were only locals venture and played pool and made the most of extremely cheap beer. Among our group were 3 canadians, a yank, a slovak (a lesbian who was great fun :P) and of course one australian. The last couple of days in Budapest we have had terrible weather, so a lot of time has been spent resting indoors. They only touristy thing I have done in the last couple of days has been venturing to the local market place (central market) and trying some of the traditional hungarian cuisine. One of the dishes that I liked was this deep fried bread dish that had a traditional hungarian sauce (containing vegetables, sausages and some variety of tomatoish paste) and of course cheese piled a mile high on top. Tomorrow Im getting up at 5am to catch a train to Zagreb.
Cya



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

National GallopNational Gallop
National Gallop

Nemzeti Vágta


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb