Budapest, Hungary


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
May 2nd 2013
Published: May 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Heading back to my roots!

My father's father's parents are from Hungary - different farm lands... so there you go, I'm 1/4 Hungarian (even though my grandfather was born in New York)... I'm talking about the blood!!

I got really lucky and Couch Surfed with one of the few Jewish Hungarian folk in Budapest (there are not that many left). He took me around to the Jewish sites and shared with me what it is like to be a Hungarian Jew. It was exactly the experience I wanted from Budapest. Hungary is still quite anti-Semitic, holding 17%!N(MISSING)azi party in the government.

By far, the best part of Budapest was the Lucas medicinal baths. With three regular pools, and four hot tubs (all different temperatures), a cafeteria, massage/wellness space, the list goes on. I loved it!!

Check out the photos (including one of the "world's most beautiful McDonald’s").



~ Off to Israel ~


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Peter ate the whole dessert!!Peter ate the whole dessert!!
Peter ate the whole dessert!!

This is an enormous feat!! I didn't hear any complaints from him, though.
view from the Castle Districtview from the Castle District
view from the Castle District

I imagine thousands of years ago, the kings looked over their great city, and didn't see buildings... just a hunch.
Eye SpyEye Spy
Eye Spy

I spy some gun bullet marks!
So cute this little furry shoe!!So cute this little furry shoe!!
So cute this little furry shoe!!

It almost makes me want babies to put the feet inside of these cozy slippers.


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb