Lizzy introduces herself


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Budapest
September 20th 2010
Published: September 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

(and before it, we both need to say excuse us for our funny english..)
Hello, My name is Elizabeth Zsika. Lizzy is my nick name. My parents names are Joe and Susanne Zsikla. They was born in Kecskemét, Hungary. My father went to New York on a big boat to work. And he found a job, brought a house, went back to Hungary and married my mother and they went back to Long Island. My sisters was born and then I was born 9 years later on November 19th, 1978 on Long Island New York. I have Cerebral Palsy from birth. I can't talk, walk and use my hands. But I understand everything what people say to me (in Hungarian too!) So, when I was born the doctor gave my mother to much of painkillers and the drugs got into my system and I was sleeping when I was born. And the doctors and nurses went out of the delivery room because there was a emergency in the another room. And when they came back to me, my body was blue. I didn't get oxygen for 8 minutes. The doctors had to revive me. So the doctors said to my parents that they had a little trouble with your daughter and she might have some little brain damage and she will grow out of it. But they was wrong! My mother tried to brest feed me and but it didn't work, so I got a feeding tube in my nose while I was in the hospital. My two older sisters was 7 and 9 years old then and they couldn't wait to see me. Their names are Susanne and Ildi. So I was doing well, the nurses took my feeding tube out and my family took me home. The hospital sent out to the house an occupational therapist and a physical therapist to teach my mother how to take care of me. For example: how to hold, exercise, feed, give me a drink, ext... My sisters helped too and played with me. My mother sent me to a daycare for special needs children when I was 2 years old. The bus came and took me there and back home in the afternoon. I was 5 years old, when I went to a special school name United Cerebral Palsy in Nassau county. My speech therapist made me a communication board that had symbols and words on it. The teachers started to teach me how use the computer. A occupational therapist put on a head pointer on my head so I can try to push the buttons on a keyboard, and with time I learned how use a computer. I learned how to spell and do math. My therapist tried to teach me how to use an electric wheelchair but, I was too excited and young to drive it. But I learned when I got older with my head pointer. When I was 6 years old, I went to Hungary with my family. That was the first time on a plane. We visited our relatives and we went to Paris too. I rarely remember Paris but I saw pictures of that trip. Europe was very weird to me and my sisters then after being in America. The taste of foods, some of the houses didn't have toilets in it, chicken coops in in the yards, Hungarian TV shows, ext... In 1989 there was a telethon for special needs children. My school picked me to be a poster girl for United Cerebral Palsy in New York. Because I got a talking little computer and I learned how to work with it. I was on the poster with a delft little boy and with Kelly Rudy (the hockey player) I got a signed hockey stick from Kelly Rudy, and I still have it. That poster was everywhere in the U.S. My mother and my godmother took me to the NBC studios in New York to show how that talking computer talks for me. I was very nervous when I was TV.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0985s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb