Rhodes, Greece day 3


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
April 11th 2009
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We wake up early again, our last day trip is to Lindos which has a population of 1091. It is known for its 17th century houses which are dazzling white as well as white and black pebble mosaics. It was established in 2000 BC and is the home to the acropolis. We are down stairs waiting of course because Israelis are always late; we start driving and the entire tour is in hebrew. TX and I start laughing to ourselves because we do not know weather to cry or laugh. We were driving towards Lindos and we make a stop we do a mini hike like Pekiin, got to a fresh water tunnel and I looked forward and into it and all I saw was a dark cllostraphobic. I did the rest of the hike which was about 1/2 the group and we walked over to where the tunnels ended to meet up with the other half.

We got back to the bus and drove to Lindos it was not as white as I thought it was going to be but it was still breath taking. We wandered through town and then did the climb to acropolis. There was also the option to take donkeys up to the top. I think the pictures of Nicole that I saw from last summer (2008) this is where she was. The wanted 6 euro for entry and I though that it was a little expensive. So I instantly said to TX "student" she got a student ticket for 1/2 price no problem and when I handed the cashier mine they said they would not accept it. Only my luck, but I told them that they should accept it because its an ISIC card and what not, not a random university ID. Then they asked me how old I was, and I remembered on the bus that they said 18 and up is 6 euro but I figured I would try to say 18 to get in for free not exactly remembering that my birthday is on the card and clearly states that I am 21. After awhile they finally wanted to stop disagreeing with me, its not that I didn't want to pay at all I just wanted to pay 3 euro not 6. They let me in for free. When we were finished and walked out, they gave me dirty looks but I did not care. After we got breath taking picture we walked down into the cute shopping square. Finally the day trip was taking us to a restaurant for lunch which was on the water we all get off the bus and imagine 60 to 70 Israelis run into a restaurant it was a little fast food like and TX and I decided to get out of there since pushing and yelling started. We went to the restaurant right next door and it was the typical scene from a movie. A restaurant owned by a family with an old greek grandma sitting in the chair by the window. We then had some time to kill and we went into the water, it was amazing the beaches were so soft and filled with tiny pebbles just like Cyprus. We got back on the bus by 4:30 and were exhausted so we took a nap, shower and then we went to dinner. Finally there were dolmas more olives and greek salad pretty decent meal. I have to say tomorrow is another early day we are going to old town and walking around Rhodes town. So bed early ... LILA

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb