Rhodes, Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Rhodes
April 8th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last day in Larnaca and I have to say I am not so sad of saying goodbye. It was an awesome exotic vacation however I think I would love to come back and do Aynapa and Pafos with dad and mom or someone who can drive/ husband or whatever. It was a rainy day waking up not looking forward to possibly getting soaked, we made our way to the bus stop to go down town and the driver looked at me like I was absolutely insane we sat on the promenade had hot coco to die for. Our waiter was adorable never met Americans before and was so fascinated that we made it to Cyprus. So we knew that the entire country decided to go on siesta in the afternoons but we did not realize that it also affects public transportation or whatever they call it.

So on Wednesday as we are trying to find the bus stop that goes to the airport we are told by a couple pedestrians that there is no bus to the airport today and we did not really know what they are talking about or even wanted to believe what they were saying. We then turn the corner from the street that we were standing on and we find this taxi stand and this woman was outside asking if she could help us and did not sound British when she spoke English so I was a little thrown off. She was asking us where we were from and taking care of us as well as just being entertaining. We get to the LCA airport really early since there is just nothing else to do. We are sitting in front of this family going to Dubai and their son was flirting with me so I was having fu with that.

Finally we check in and are roaming duty free for a very long time praying ourselves with perfume and getting dinner. We were eating pizza and our last chametz meal and all of a sudden we hear flight CY71 to TLA last call for boarding. I look at TX and she goes is that our flight… and I nod being very confused since we did not get a first warning we drop our pizza and run. I am jumping over peoples bags and zig zag through the crowed thinking no way in hell are we missing this flight. It was a quick 40 min flight we get through customs and everything walk around to stretch our legs and noticed all vending machines are kosher for Passover how ironic. After having a mini identity crisis I call my family saying the first ½ of my vacation was amazing and how onward. But before that we had a 10 hour layover in BGA. We ran into someone from MI, LA, and SD was pretty awesome to see familiar faces and how the adventure for them was just beginning. The layover was pretty brutal I was up for about 27 hours before we got to Rhodes. When we left our flight was through an Israeli charter so every Israeli ad their mother was going on vacation and they all have the same voucher like TX and I. Its like we have been planted on a mini Israel I turn my head and all I hear is Hebrew. TX and I don’t have our code language anymore. Also since we have been chartered by flying carpet all the flyers and announcements are in Hebrew as well. Thought that I did not have to work on vacation.

We get through customs no problem slight balagan but taken care of. We got a coach bys to take us to our hotel and we walk into this 5 star heaven. Worried that we would have to twiddle our thumbs for an hour since check in seemed to be at 2pm but they were expecting us. We get up to our room and its Oceanside 3 pools, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, gym, spa… etc. IT was unbelievable. I cant even take everything in right now because I am so exhausted. Time for a nap then dinner and then talking to this woman who is planning day trips for us who works though the travel agency we have booked our trip through. We saw two day trips we are interested in one to Symi and Lindos one of the main cities on the southern part of Rhodes. As well as tickets to the night activity music at the Port. That is what we are doing tonight then waking up at 6:45 am and going to Symi. I can not wait. We went to the night bar Blue Lagoon and Tx ended up dancing on the table with old men and then we get into this cab to go back to Capsis and the cab driver stops (just as if he was Israeli and picks them up on the side of the road). We start talking to them and they see our hotel and they get very jealous, we too were American in Israel for the year. First night was awesome… bed not so early but o well… lila


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb