Day 22: Lefkes and Naousa


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Paros
July 27th 2023
Published: July 27th 2023
Edit Blog Post

(Wifi still garbage, so no photos)

Today was a fun day! A high school friend I haven’t seen in 10 years happens to be on the island for a family thing - we’re like ok, let’s catch/meet up!! We decided to go explore cute little Lefkes for a bit. She is a brave soul driving manual on the island, I was happy to be a passenger today.

Lefkes is super cute - it’s the absolute stereotype of what you think of when you think of little Greek villages with blue accents everywhere and all the bougainvillea everywhere. We wandered the alleys, saw all the napping cats, took all the pics and then grabbed some freddo coffees and gelato at Meli Cream before making the climb back to the car lol.

She’s staying in Naousa, so we headed back there afterwards to do some more wandering and to grab a bite to eat. The area around the harbour is also very cute with all the flowers, vines and little details that add to the aesthetic. It was also cool to see a bunch of octopus out to dry on a boat.

For lunch we went to Galaxy which had a real laid back chill vibe - everywhere you looked it reminded you of that just ‘slow down and relax and feel the good vibes’ vibe. We grabbed some pitas and some drinks (omg I got a “Paros” which was a mojito with a shot of souma in it. Holy shit it was strong, but oh so good). I caught a ride back to Piso with her and her dad and that was a good chunk of my day!

For dinner I got an AMAZING sea bass and pasta dish at Gialos Paros - my fancier bday meal, if you like. Pasta was cooked in kakavia sauce which… I think is something to do with fish bones from now she explained it…? And then herbs of course and just ughhhhhh so good and so fresh. It’s unreal how fresh everything is here and I love it.

I had to laugh when the server asked sun or shade - I glanced at my shoulders that have the most insane tan lines - shade, I need shade haha. She was keen to practice her English with me since I was there before the dinner rush lol. She’s from Athens, comes for the tourist season - combing work and holiday - makes sense!

I do have to say, the bonus of eating at hours I’m used to (instead of the 9pm locals) is that I never have to worry about a reservation lol.

Another little detail and note I love is that the restaurants here in Piso don’t chase the kitties away. It’s so funny you sit and as soon as your food arrives, so does a cat (or five). Another server was pssp, pssp, pssping them and was telling me all their names and such. I love it.

I went to pay the bill and got my free dessert (bless, the best Greek tradition lol) - it was called “submarine” and I really don’t know how to explain it in a way that doesn’t sound weird, so just google Greek submarine dessert lol. The server def had to explain to me how to eat it haha. It’s SO good - you kinda lick the spoon or take little nibbles.

For (second) dessert I stopped at the local bakery (again) to try her orange pie… I keep seeing it places and was like k, got to try. OMG IT WAS SO GOOD??!! My belated bday cake lol.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.408s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb