Day 6,7,8?


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » North Aegean » Chios
October 8th 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

sunrise over Chiossunrise over Chiossunrise over Chios

I have about 15 more if you ever want to see them!!! Sunshine every day so far
Greeting!

This will be a 2 part blog because I don't have the time to sort the pics yet...sooo many pictures, so little time I want to spend in this bar with the techno music blaring! However, the Mythos beer is pretty good! Just had to re-read my last blog to remember what stories I told last entry. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time her on Chios, an Island of just over 800 sq km's! The highest Mnt is 1297 metres and we may have crossed t tonight!

We rented scooters yesterday and headed for South Chios. The reason we picked this Island to come to is because of the Mastic trees which grow no where else in the world but in southern Chios. For those of you on you word origin toes, you might recognise Mastic as part of Masticate...and sure enough, mastic trees produce a gum like substance that sells for 100.00 Euro/kg! The stuff looks like a small tear drop. It just so happened the woman serving us at the deli counter in the grocery store the night before we went to see the trees "works" 3,000 of these trees with her husband. We
Church PyrgiChurch PyrgiChurch Pyrgi

I forgot my book for official description of how this decorative finish is achieved...all the building have this kind of finish...White wash, volcanic ash, then pattern scratched to show the white through...I think!
found out more detail than I could possibly explain (she was originally from Wisconson...We have run into many American x-pats here) but she certainly made our trip there more interesting. There are 2 primary Mastic Villiages, Pyrgi and Masta. Pyrgi is a remarkable place, as old world as we had read. I will post pics explaining what makes this village unique. Masta is a laberinthine town, we didn't wander far from the central square because a person could get lost quite quickly.

We stopped along side the road after leaving Masta and I picked us some mastic...you can chew it for ever, it never loses it's flavour which is slightly medicinal. I was going to keep chewing my piece until I return to Greece again (kinda like tossing a coin over your shoulder into the Trevi fountain in Rome), but, alas I was sticking it to my water glass so I could drink my beer and it fell on the floor!! I purchased a package of it this morning so will let ya'll try some...apparently it has all sorts of medicinal properties.

The scooters work great, the guy delivered them to the door of our pad.
Greek Orthydox Church MastaGreek Orthydox Church MastaGreek Orthydox Church Masta

We didn't see the sign that said no pics! This chandelier is about 8 feet in length
It wasn't until today that I realized I wasn't sitting far enough back on the seat...I felt very unstable yesterday!!! hahahaha Today I was even leaning into those switchback curves and leaving Gord in the dust!

We continue to love our accomodations, and our friends from the last place we stayed in Molyvos, Francoise and Nichola from France showed up late last night. I was so pleased to see them this morning when I got up...right away Nicola handed me a card from the place they stayed last year on the next Island we are going to. They will be moving into our "penthouse" after we leave tomorrow. They have been a great source of information for us. Nicola (he speaks the better English of the 2) circled the Islands we should visit on our next trip here!! Except they keep mentioning how wonderful Karpathos is to us, then apologising because we told them we had planned on going there but now are unable to because of a ferry strike. If you read the "comments" on here you will have noticed one from Elias which is the dear man we have been incontact with since we began planning
she wants to go for a rideshe wants to go for a rideshe wants to go for a ride

We almost came home with a cat!
our trip in Jan. We had planned to stay at his hotel and are so dissapointed that we will not get to meet him, he has been so very enthusiastic about our visit and I know we would have really enjoyed our time with him. We will get to Karpathos Elias! Enjoy your time off and your visit to your family in North America. We had hoped to stay on Chios for a few extra days since we aren't going to Karpathos, but sadly we can only fly out Tues or Thurs to Rhodos.

I am quite sure I am missing all sorts of interesting stories...but no matter...when we come home we can bore you to tears with our thousands of pictures!!!

Today was a lovely day. We found in Molyvos that we spent so much time touring around that it wasn't until the night before we left that I discovered a whole part of the town I had missed. So this morning we walked around Chios Town (aka Hora). Gord went to the archeological museum and I attempted to go to the Homer Cultural Centre. Homer lived and taught in Chios many millenia ago. The
What is itWhat is itWhat is it

Some sort of a farm vehicle! Gord loves these things!
"siesta time" caught me tho as the centre closed just 15 minutes before I got there, not to re-open until 6. Gord's museum was opened. No matter, I walked thru the public gardens and then got thoroughly lost. Gord and I set a meet time of 2 pm at the museum and I thought I had lots of time...I finally found a residential area which was so interesting. I just kept wondering alley's and before I knew it I had no idea where I was. As you say Alicia, getting lost can be the best thing...maybe it was the hot sun beating on my head, but I became so disoriented that I almost started to panic...finally a kindly school girl helped me decipher the map!

We went home for lunch on the terrace and then hopped on our wee scooters and headed up and over to the western part of the Island. Don had recommended we see the Nea Moni Monastary, and told me to be sure to dress appropriately. Of course I had to rush upstairs and change out of the thong bikini I usually wear around town!! We arrived at the Monastery which is beautifully situated
going homegoing homegoing home

Don't worry, we always ask for permission to take photo's of people...these 2 smiled like crazy! On the road between Masta and Chios
almost at the top of the mountain. We stopped outside the enterance gate to take a pic of that and read the sign telling us we needed to be appropriatly attired. Just then, I realized that some sort of flying insect had flown up my pantleg...hen it stung me and I had no choice but to drop my pants right there and let the little beast out!!!

This monastery is a UNESO World Heritage sight, mostly for the church that is there (being renovated sadly so we cold only see a little). In 1822...I have to go now...my battery is almost dead..I forgot my euro adapter...(we fly to Rhodos tomorrow morning, leaving the Northern Agean Islands and heading for the Dodecanese (I know that is not spelled right...can't see the word)...to be continued...)..and now back to our story...I'm in a great little pub kind of place in Old Rhodos town...much better environment!!) Having a pint of Hellas Pilsner...very nice, think I'll have another...In 1822 there was a masacre of 2300 sould, some of them monks but most of them women and children who had fled Chios town for the monastery because the Ottomans were coming. In one little
Mastic TreesMastic TreesMastic Trees

Only place in the world these trees grow...Southern Chios Island
chapel there is a display case of a bunch of skulls...something else I will show you if you want to see it...thought it inappropriate to post pic here. I have learned so much history since coming here. I can now see why the Turks were constantly invading, they are within spitting distance of most of the agean islands.

We went to tell Costa about our adventures of the day, I was to have met his wife and daughter at 8 am this morning but something came up with him or we had our wires crossed somehow. I did see his daughter at the Kiosk but she speaks no English. It's funny how you can miss someone you hardly know, but we miss his smile and his stories already.

We returned to our abode and packed our stuff up...no small task as we have been here for 4 nights (I am pretending I am still there!)(also..mybattery was on it's last legs againand I thought this would have to be continued again, but the kindly bar-keep showed me where I could plug in and I even remembered my adaptor) and have felt right at home here. This has
Gord and CostaGord and CostaGord and Costa

Our new friend Costa, we shared a lot of laughs with this wonderful man! He loves to catch us with a joke. He was a seaman around the world on cargo ships. He has been up the St Lawrence and the Welland Canal. We told him we will be back to see him!
been our favourite Island so far...

Regarding longer videos...when I started trying to download videos I tried a 4 minute one when we had wireless connection in our hotel and it kept timing out...it takes forever to download them. The 30 some second one took about an 45 minutes...we haven't had wireless internet at our accomodations since Lesvos, and I'm sure you understand I do not want to spend my time waiting for video to download rather than being out and about taking more video's. Again, we have hundreds by now...so if you want to see them you'll have to come visit!!!

We sure do appreciate your comments. Some family members who have travelled told me how much they loved to hear from people back home, and now I understand. I am going to address some of the comments here now rather than individual replies...cuz the sun is shining (really it's downright hot where we are today!).

Maisy...why wait for retirement!

Gwen, I have thought of you and Ron so much on this trip, I truly hope you guys will get here one day. You would be so much better informed than we are,
Hibiscus maybeHibiscus maybeHibiscus maybe

I think these are hibiscus...any experts out there
cuz you'd have your wee expert along with you. Hey, we plan to come back in about May of 2010...we want to see this country during a different season. Haven't done the Momma Mia thing yet, but I feel it coming on!!

Licia, I look forward to swapping lost stories with you...oh my stars, wait till my next blog...if you ever want to get lost come to Rodos (old town). We are at the hotel isoles if you want to see the place.

Mitch, Congrats on the video...so cool to see Mike in it too! To see the video I am talking about go to you-tube and type in Collette Trudeau (the band my talented nephew is in...he's the good looking guy with the red guitar). I keep wondering where you will travel next.

Sandra and Heather, we miss our dog soo much. When we arrived in Rodos yesterday I sat and petted a dog and almost fell apart! We know he is so well loved and cared for with Mom and we sure do appreciate it!

Penny, has Jimmy gone to the Shania Twain museum yet??? Tell him we have booked a limo for when
residential street Chios Townresidential street Chios Townresidential street Chios Town

Things you find when you get lost...The guy on the bike came along at a great time...myself, I don't get how to use these mirrors...
we return!!! I brought all 3 pair of the sox you made me...they have no seams!! perfect for lots of time walking...no blisters! The Keen sandals are just perfect...so glad I switched!!!

Kelley...you mentioned prayers for another blog so you knew all was well...perhaps this is why, in a country that is 98% Greek Orthodox, we ran into the only evangelical people in the country in the square in Masta. Of course, they were a German and British expat so maybe that doesn't count (they snagged a coupl of American women after us...we got off light I think). I thank you every day for the things you lent us for this trip. The vest was just perfect on the scooters! The long sleeve shirt is perfect on flights, and the "chicks on ice bag" is just right. Kelley is my big sister and fashion/travel advisor.

Shirley, if you can believe it, no one here knows about the Canadian election (everyone get out and vote please!!!)! I have been asked my opinion on the American election about as many times as I have been mistaken for an American...which is many. Apparently, according to a German gal I met...I just
mmm goodmmm goodmmm good

This is what I have for breakfast most mornings. Yogurt, most commonly from sheep milk, Honey, and Walnuts....I had it in a champagne glass because it is a celebration of taste to eat this wonderful Greek yogurt...
don't say eh enough!! Have you seen Tony Bennet yet, and was he wearing his plaid shirt??? We miss you guys a lot. Tell Leo we picked up some Swiss hitchikers on the last Island! The one gals mom was from Appenzell.

All for now...Have to go catch a few rays...did I mention how warm it was today...oh yah, Joyce, if you are reading this, I had to use the bathingsuit cover thing you gave me for a regular skirt because everything else was just to warm...Actually it's only about 25 degrees! Bye for now, Brenda and Gord










Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

HereHere
Here

This phone booth was at the monastary of all the strange things to find there in the middle of nowhere. It has been hard in Chios Town to find a booth that is quiet!
sunset Western Chiossunset Western Chios
sunset Western Chios

Okay...not quite sunset, we wanted to get back over the mountain before dark...Most towns are on the eastern side of Islands...so haven't seen too many sunsets.
switchbacks!switchbacks!
switchbacks!

How handy...another car comes along at just the right time to make the pic a little more interesting.
masticmastic
mastic

Gord just googled mastic...it is defined as to gnash the teeth. It is the tear of Schinos (phonetic spelling of the Greek word for Mastic) Someone here in the bar just helped me out with that word.
the most interesting menu yetthe most interesting menu yet
the most interesting menu yet

Too bad we were't hungry enough to try the Rooster, or the lamb in the oven with them...that made me laugh...kinda like the game clue...The Lamb is in the oven with Lemon. We had Greek salad, cheese balls and Souvlaki
farewell breakfastfarewell breakfast
farewell breakfast

Gord eating his cornflakes in the Kitchen in Chios rooms. We were very sorry that we weren't able to arrange it to stay a few more days here


11th October 2008

hello
Hello my dears...so nice to hear from you. I have been awaiting the next blog, anxiously. Gordie you look like a wee Greek man in that hat!!! I love scooters!!!! It is a beautiful thanksgiving weekend, weather wise here in s.w. ontario. Crystal and I are going to go to Swiss Chalet on Sunday and pretend it is turkey. Then we are going to a movie. Jimmy works 12 hours a day, so has not had time to go see Shania. All for now guys...enjoy miss you love Penny
11th October 2008

Hi from Canada
....still hard to believe that I a here in Cananada and you two are over there in Greece...hop skip and an airplane from Italy...Matteo was wondering if you were going to stop by but I siad not this tme. We will met you there next time eh!!! Love your blog......souns like you are having the times of your lives nad have ppicked the perfect place for the both of you. You are sooo brabe to get on one of those scooters Brenda.....hahaha not sure if I could! I have been telling everyone about your trip....lots of jealousy happening as its BRRRR COLD HERE...snow flurries here....why did I ever decide to do this in winter!!! Love to you both.....keep the blogs coming...really enjoying reading them. Janice
11th October 2008

Hey guys! Great pics again (love the one of the mirror!) Miss you lots, too bad you can't meet that greek man on the other island, I bet he's dissapointed too. So proud of you guys for seeing the world!
16th October 2008

Great pics
Hey Guys looks like alot of fun, we are still viewing your pics flintstone dial-up here in the great north is verrry slow.
19th October 2008

Hey Kath and Mike
funny we should hear from you today...Gord was just mentioning how much he misses work!!! NOT! may just send his retirement papers from here and stay for a while...we'll go join the hippies in the caves!!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb