Day 58


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
November 3rd 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 58

It was really rough waking up this morning since we went to bed late last night. I had a hard time getting out of bed, because today was the first day where I didn’t wake up uncomfortably warm in bed; I haven’t turned on my heater, but spots in the floor are heated and makes our whole place feel summer. So being so at ease in bed was a nice change, but made it even harder to get out of bed. Regardless, I did, changed, then waited for the bathroom and changed. I got my stuff together when Isabelle came in and we had breakfast; we’re eating up the rest of my yogurt before we buy any more, I’ve got the cereal and she supplies the honey and cinnamon. Yesterday we shared one of my bananas, and today she brought over an apple and she sliced them in our bowls. It was pretty yummy but I’m a bigger fan of bananas in the morning.

At 7:30 Jenn came in and we went down to the docks. We had all packed our fried rice leftovers but I forgot to get Isabelle a spoon, so for lunch we had our own containers but took turns using my spoon to eat it :P The dig was good, we left without Zach again today because it was already 10 late and he wasn’t down, my prof’s getting a little pissed and it’s not our responsibility to wake him up and be his mom. So we left without him and had a nice, successful dig day. Zach spends more time sleeping in the storage portable than anything else, using excuses like his back hurts or he doesn’t like the rain, so it’s best for his group that he just not be in their way I guess? In our trench we took more of our bulk down and deeper, then started another bulk after, what appears to be a wall formation, then started evening out that 1x5m stratographic trench. Again it was a lot of manual labor, so I’m glad that tomorrow is our last dig day for the week, even though that means next week’s our last week of digging.

On the bus we tried to digest our lunches, then at our apartments we quickly changed to our running gear then the 6 of us went out for a run, but we lost Sara because she only wanted to go out for 20 mins, while we went out for just under an hour. We were tired, legs burning and throats sore because we hadn’t had much water at the site or coming home and we were dehydrated and drained from the dig day. Regardless it was a good run, but I’m REALLY ready for an early night’s sleep tonight! When we got back, I took a shower…that lost water pressure at the last few minutes but luckily I was done rinsing my hair out, then updated my blog. Jerry and Lisa were just on their way out when I got out of my shower, so the place was mine for a bit. I had a little snack, because running gets me really hungry; so I had 3 slices of bread with vinegar and oil, and a banana with water. After I got through my blogging, Isabelle came over to grab her power adapter for her hair dryer, then we booked our flights to Paris for next weekend! Yay! As she was booking, she was getting hungry so I washed, cut and fried some green beans I bought from the grocery store with Jenn and then pan fried some chicken nuggets for the two of us as a small snack. It turned out to be bigger and fuller than I thought it would be and was SUPER full at the end of it! We watched the 2nd most recent ‘Glee’ as we ate, then she washed the dishes since I cooked. We tried looking for hostels for Paris, but we couldn’t find anything for 4 people (me, Isabelle, Neil and Geoffrey) with a private bathroom, so we might have to look for 2 separate bedrooms, guys and girls…which I wouldn’t oppose since it’s kinda weird sleeping in the same room as our prof. As it was I still found it a little weird rooming with Neil in Athens :P

Just past 6pm, Isabelle, Lisa and I headed down to Neil’s. I brought my laptop, hoping to take his 4 seasons of ‘Dexter’ on his computer, and to use the classroom’s internet to search for a Paris hostel. When we got there, Neil started cooking dinner and insisted we not help since we cooked yesterday. Dinner was ready pretty fast; we had a spaghetti stir fry with sesame sauce, carrots, peas, corn, sausage, onion and garlic, topped with parmesan. It was delicious and super filling! He also boiled some peas to have on the side, with salt, it almost tasted like edamame beans. After dinner he brought out strawberry ice cream that he bought for dessert; we all had HUGE scoopfuls and were very very full! Isabelle and I did the dishes, and we stayed a bit longer than Lisa and Jenn so I could take the 1st season of ‘Dexter’ since he was occupied all night with cooking and entertaining. I’ll grab the other seasons from Jenn with ‘Glee’. Isabelle and I walked home close to 9pm, I washed up and finished up my blog for the day.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb