Day 59


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
November 4th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 59

This morning was the last one for this week of waking up early, so after sleep in on my alarm by 5 mins I pulled myself out of bed and got ready for the day. I made a peanut butter sandwich last night, boiled an egg each for me and Isabelle this morning, packed a carrot and apple, and water for the dig. Just before 7am Isabelle was over, we shared a banana of mine with cereal, yogurt, honey and cinnamon (the usual) for breakfast, then headed down to the bus. We were a FULL group for once and we headed all onto the bus and the dig site. The dig was pretty tiring, but my prof called me over to help our TA with trench elevations for my trench and another’s for about half an hour, so it was a nice break in the afternoon. Today was the warmest day in a while, and with the sun and clear sky it was as warm as a summer September dig day! We had the Dean of Environment for SFU, and archaeology, and his wife as guests at our site today. They toured the site at 10am then after break they helped out a bit in our trench. We were done with their area, so our prof let them slowly dig around there. They didn’t get much done or find anything big, but I’m sure they had fun and were very friendly and talkative.

By 1pm we were all POOPED and so got onto the bus and said goodbye to the site with a big relief until next week: our final week!! My body’s pretty tired and achy, so I’m glad for the weekend break. Also, instead of going for a run after the dig today, Isabelle and I decided to treat ourselves to a beach day! We were out there for a good hour, then she went to her notebook session with our prof and her trench group, and I returned home, showered, and caught up on some emails. When her meeting was done, she came by and I made grilled eggplant towers by slicing it in medallions then putting parmesan cheese between each slice. We seasoned them with pepper and salt for taste while we ate it and watched another episode of ‘the OC’. It was delicious! And then right after we had to head down for pottery washing at the classroom at 5pm.

After the wash, we headed straight to Panteli’s for dinner at 7pm. We had preordered on the bus yesterday, so he could have our orders and food available; he’s shutting down in the next few days. I had a banana milkshake, which are ALWAYS sinfully delicious, and had lamb chops for dinner with fries. They also served us dolmades, spicy cheese dip (goat cheese and garlic), a gross Russian salad (just mayonnaise with some potato and veggies) and garlic bread as appetizers. It was all REALLY delicious and I had half of my meat leftover because I was too full and packed it up for lunch tomorrow. And to add to all the glory, Panteli served us a massive Belgium waffle with toffee and caramel topped with 3 whopping scoops of vanilla ice cream, strawberry and chocolate syrup. He spoiled us SO much! It was so yummy! I polished off my group’s plate (we shared 1 plate per 4 people, but it was STILL huge!). After dinner most of us went back to the apartments and a handful of us went to Ada’s room after I changed into my PJ’s and watched the Rocky Horror Picture Show episode of ‘Glee’. It was really well done and I actually liked the songs/episode…I don’t really like the movie itself.

I got back to my room close to 10pm, Isabelle slowly following and we stayed up a bit longer online. Me catching up on my blog, her getting a picture gift we’re making for Geoffrey ready.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb