Day 52


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 28th 2010
Published: November 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 52: Ochi Day

This morning I got up close to 8:30/9am. The power was out and the cleaning lady started on my floor, so I got up, dressed, washed up and got some breakfast together. She came in and I took my juice outside while she cleaned, since I didn’t want to sit in the dark while she cleaned and our kitchen/common room area isn’t big enough for too much hustle and bustle. Close to 10am the power kicked in again, while the power was out I started to read more of my book, ‘The Odyssey’, which I haven’t touched since I got off the plane. Today was ‘Ochi Day’, where the Greek leader said ‘no’ to Mussolini’s invasion. He didn’t win the entire battle but he did win this one for a short time. So there are parades that happen around town and the entire country takes a holiday. For our program, our holiday extends from today, Thursday to Monday.

When the power came back, I checked my emails and updated my blog. Jenn stopped by when her room was being cleaned, and we made some plans together for the day. I went downstairs later to drop off her USB I borrowed and we made plans to go for a run. I invited Joe and Mae to join us and we walked down Panteli’s pot, from the 2nd soup he made for us, then we ran the boardwalk. We added to our run by checking out the upper-part of the route. It led to a hotel and the other way led to other housing, where we think Jerry lives with his mom and dad. We headed back after we hit another dead end, and got back within an hour or so. I took a nice, warm shower and heated up some soup for lunch. Once my lunch was ready, Sara dropped by. We talked for a little bit and made plans to run tomorrow and fix dinner together. She left to catch up on some things in her own room, and I had lunch and downloaded some ‘Glee’ episodes. My stomach started to feel a little uncomfortable, so I headed to my room to watch ‘The Killers’ with Catherine Hiegl and Ashton Kutcher. It wasn’t very good at all, but was a good waste of time. I watched an episode of ‘Modern Family’, then it was 6:45pm.

Someone posted that the movie night started at 7pm, so I headed to Sara’s room to grab her so we could walk down together. She quickly got ready then we walked down. Ryan downloaded and set up the movie in class, ‘The Last Mohikan’ and we watched part of an episode of ‘King of Queens’ as we waited for our prof and a few students to arrive with the pizzas. They arrived close to 7:30pm and handed out the pizzas; I had a special pizza again. It was pretty tasty, but I think next time I want a Hawaiian or Margarita pizza. I brought down a water and some lollipops I brought from home. I haven’t felt like candy this whole trip, so I gave them out to the leeches in the group.

The movie lasted about 2 hours, my prof suggested it, but I wasn’t a big fan of the movie; it was very predictable and was another ‘Pocahontas’-type movie. A few people left after pizza, and so there was only about 5-7 of us left at the end of the film. We all walked back together and said our goodnights. When I got home Lisa and Jerry were out again and so I washed up and made myself comfy in my bed. I watched some ‘Glee’ then fell asleep close to 12midnight.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb