Day 36


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 12th 2010
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 36

I slept in for the first time till 9am, got ready for my day and met up with Isabelle on the 2nd floor where her place is to walk down to class for 10am. There we met up with the rest of our class and washed pottery from 10am-1pm. My trench caught up with our pottery finds, we were behind by about a week, so it was nice to get all the dig chores done. Of course, the snotty girl in my trench was all up in arms when she found out that some of our pottery findings bags were given to other trench groups to help us with the work load and so they’d have something to do for 3 hours. Some trenches only had 2 small bags of pottery, and so were left to fiddle around once they were done. So I explained to the girl who was complaining to me about having ‘our property taken over’, that we’re a big group working on one site, so it’s only fair that others have turns to wash some nice pottery. But of course she didn’t understand and we just didn’t talk for a while. Eventually it all went back to normal, and she complained while I kept my thoughts and comebacks to myself; as my Dad and Bambie taught me, if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all! I think that goes for her too, but I’m not going to be the one that starts unnecessary beef. It’ll definitely be something I WON’T miss when I go back home.

When we were all caught up on pottery, it was close to 1pm, and my prof wanted a chance to wash the small find (our baby cup). Everyone in my group, who helped to find the artifact, were all too nervous, including myself, to was the cup on our own, so we gave the honor to our prof who gladly and voluntarily offered to do it himself. So we watched him have at it, delicately and with great respect for the mini cup. He finished around 1:20pm and then Isabelle and I headed back to our apartment to have some lunch. She had packed a lunch for class and I had the last 2 slices of pizza from last Friday’s movie night for lunch. We sat, talked and ate, then she went up to do some laundry, while Lisa came into my room to hang some laundry from my balcony since I’ve got the undercover one, and we hung out till Isabelle came back after about 45mins of washing her own laundry.

Lisa left, and Isabelle and I started on some Greek homework outside on my balcony that gets the better internet than in my room. It was about 3:30pm when my parents called me to skype with them from China. We spoke for a little while, then I got back to my homework. I didn’t finish all the units, but I hope to do more tomorrow after another 10am-1pm class. Just past 4pm Isabelle and I started to make a hash with my leftover potatoes, green peppers, onions, cheese and egg, and she brought down her spices and a yam (that we bought for the group Thanksgiving, but it’s been postponed by a week so it’ll probably go bad by then). We ate at 4:30pm and then headed down to the classroom for Greek review with Stella at 4:50pm. Class lasted again till 7pm, and after that we dropped all our books back off to our apartments then headed out for dinner.

We went to a restaurant we haven’t tried yet, but where the owners are always saying hi to us. It was called Tolotino’s and the food was delicious. They gave us free bread, after the dumb guy who tagged along turned down bread because they said it would cost 1 EU, and Isabelle and I shared a Fanta to drink. For dinner I had a baked spaghetti napolitain with mushrooms, green pepper, bacon, onion and lots of cheese with the tomato sauce. I was full after eating half of it, but our dinner took so long and there was so much talking going on (Gioria, Neil and Odysseus joined us), that I kept poking at my dish and finished almost all of it! When it came down to pay, for some reason we had paid too much without my portion paid yet! So we took money back, repaid Gioria who over paid, and I somehow ended up with yet another free dinner. I said I’d pay for ice cream, because Jenn was saying that she was hankering for it. Of course when we got to Pantelli’s Isabelle and Jenn never let me pay for theirs, but then we found out it only cost 1 EU each, cup or cone, so I said I’d make up for it by paying for ice cream tomorrow.

After desert, we walked back, as Lisa, Jerry and Steph, whose mom and great aunt just came into town to sightsee and hangout with Steph, went to Kivatos. When we got home, Isabelle came back with me and she used the internet to set up the photo gift we’re planning for our prof’s thank you gift at the end of term and she started to compile pictures she’s making for her friend’s birthday back in Vancouver. I caught up on my blog and looked for pictures to add to our prof’s thank you gift.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb