Day 35


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 11th 2010
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 35: Rain Day

7:30am meeting at the docks for our excavation. The day wasn’t as cool as in Pylos, but we were told to layer up. I woke up at 6:30am and skype with my boyfriend until it was time to go, while getting ready for the day and having breakfast.

At the site, we found lots more bone in our baby pithos grave, a small cup (which my prof says is the BEST find he could ever wish for and that in all his 20 years of archeology, he’s always wished he could find a small cup just like this one! So we’re very proud we could make him so happy with our find), and some small hoops of jewelry (we’re not sure if it’s for a necklace or earring yet, but it’s definitely fine jewelry. It was in the palm of my hand while I was sifting through the dirt we were digging out of the pithos). It was a very exciting day and our prof was very proud of the findings. During our break, at 10:30am, it started to pour, so we quickly packed up, covered the pithos grave, and bused back down to the apartments.

We got back to our place around 11:30am. I caught up on some blogging, took a long-awaited shower, and got some Greek stuff together for the 5pm Greek review session with our prof tonight. Isabelle came down to my room around 3:30pm, we caught up on some computer stuff; emails, Facebook, blog, Greek online stuff etc…
At 4:50pm we packed up and headed down to the Hercules classroom building. When we got there there were only 3 other people including our prof. Class started pretty much right at 5pm once everyone, who was going to show up since a girl in our trench today didn’t come because she said her ‘sides were sore’ and her roommate another girl in my trench didn’t show up to the 5pm class time, and a few other girls didn’t bother to show up for the class. Because it was raining Isabelle and I had to get out our umbrellas to walk to class, which of course deterred us from wanting to go, but to be respectful we knew it was the right thing to do. We were seriously debating whether we could get by with skipping Stella’s lessons on Tuesdays, honestly we don’t learn anything and it’s a waste of 2 hours. But anyway, the class went well. We went until 7pm but we got through the entire unit together and even did some homework as a class. It was very useful and I love our prof for doing this for us!

After class Isabelle and I headed straight to my place and started to prep our dinner. We boiled broccoli and eggplant, then heated the ground beef we prepared before the Olympia trip in a frying pan. I chopped garlic, almost minced and Isabelle made a mixture of the garlic with soy sauce and honey as our marinade for our stir fry. Once the meat and broccoli were added to the pan, we added the sauce and cooked it all up nicely. It turned out deliciously! And as her mom would say, we would make perfect wives because we know how to cook well! We feasted while watching half of ‘Ratatouille’ on her computer, and we finished by going on our computers. She needed to book her hostels for her trip to Paris during the October 28th long weekend, and I wanted to catch up on my blog and internet stuff. Just before I headed to bed I skyped with my boyfriend and drifted off to sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb