Day 6 - Oropos


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 17th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

August 16, 2006

Yesterday we went on a day trip to Oropos. My aunt Thalia woke up at 5AM to cook spaghettis and to prepare. I woke up two hours later and after a short while we took off. It was a really nice day and since it was morning it wasn't too hot. Our first stop was at the bakery in Oropos where we ordered tiropites for all - they were awesome. Then my aunt drove us to a secluded beach called Meteora. The footpath towards the beach was semi-tortuous, but everyone managed to handle the steep descent. We found our spot and we dipped into the cool waters right away. Adriano could not stay out of the water and he had a great time. He was so excited to find and collect some sea shells and we found some beautiful specimens for him which he added to his collection. After staying for several hours, we decided to head back home to Athens. We were supposed to stay for lunch, but we forgot the spaghettis back home. When we arrived back to my aunt's place we were so hungry and we ate right away. During the return trip Adriano layed down in the back seat of the car with his seat-belt still on and he slept. I was also getting the sleepies in the car and dozed off a few times. I guess were still not used of the heat. We slept some more after lunch, then went to our cousin's house in the evening for dessert. We stayed and talked there most of the night, then went home. It was the first time we didn't go out at night, but Adriano and I had a full day with the beach and all. Overall it was a good day.

Advertisement



18th August 2006

Back to Sifnos
So I guess you are going back to Sifnos with your uncle and Adriano. That makes me very happy because Adriano looked very happy there. Was your uncle happy to see you? I”ll bet he was!!! Tell them “Hyerete!” Where is his hotel located exactly? I want to looki it up on the map of the island... We had a good week. We are back home, the kids are excited yet disorganized, we must get back in the swing of things. My mom is varnishing her floors, the man came today he will be finished tomorrow. Monday the painter is going to paint all the bedrooms upstairs. Meanwhile, they are staying home with us. The children are very happy because they get to sleep in the same bedroom: Yuri in Adriano’s bed; Fabiola in Yuri’s bed; Nani in Fabiola’s bed and my mom and I, in my bed. The kids are having a great time, Yuri changed class, he is now in Jennifer’s class. He is much calmer, his new teacher’s name is Isabelle. She seems very nice. She likes to talk to us about our children. I like that. I am glad he changed, Yuri needed to get out of that toddler's class. The other day, all three kids were playing together in Jennifer's class (Fabi, Yuri and Olivier). Isabelle says that Yuri is a very independent boy who likes to play, play, play and eat, eat, eat…. Tomorrow is "toy day", he’ll have to bring something to school. I can’t wait to see what he’ll choose. As for Fabi, she is just adorable. Tomorrow is swimming pool day. Today, after school, she was having trouble with her seatbelt, I encouraged her lovingly and she succeeded through tears and pain. It was a great victory for her. She also picked up all her toys (sobbing, she hates picking up after herself). Also, she put on her wedding dress… again… Yuri’s expression of the day is: two cars, two buses, two shoes… you guessed it, he assimilated the concept of the number 2!!! And now we have two of everything. He assimilated the concept of the colour purple... Good that makes two concept... Yeah! Fabiola is more and more independent. SHe goes downstairs on her own and paints, plays and calls her brother to play. He follows her without asking any questions... and they fight and make up and play and fight... routine... As for me, I am doing fine. I learned something new today. Pou thathelate naphate kati? Then xero! Pou thatthelate naphate? To spiti mou? Ego ohi, thaithela naphao sto isteriatorio. Pou? To isteriatorio Vichi sto I ileoforus st-martin. Thathelate nepiate kati? Ne, ligi birra, parakalo! As you can see, I have entire conversations with myself.. I am pretty darn good… (in my head) Imme poly kala… hahaha And to think it took three weeks to learn 4 little sentences… Going for walks on a daily basis at work. I enjoy them. I love walking downtown. Ego naphao sto Harveys… it was very good. Did you know you can have a salad now with the hamburger? Great news… Please keep writing your blogs. I look forward to them. they make me very happy. Don’t forget to load some pictures of you guys. Say hello to Olga and your mom and all your relatives… L.
18th August 2006

Activities on Sifnos
As I mentioned before during our telephone conversation, Sifnos is a great island with hiking activities. I found a website with a list of activities you can do with Nano. They have organized hiking trails that bring you all the way to the Monastery, and you can visit the church and catacombs… how cool is that??? The capital Apollonia is at 10 km from where you are staying. They also have dancing lessons and cooking lessons… Apollonia is the center of the island and every road brings you there. It's fantastic. There are many churches and olive trees everywhere. It is also known for its fine cuisine. here is the link: http://www.thesaurus.gr/tours_sifnos.htm You must check it out. Some of the beautiful aspects of Sifnos are the roads in the capital Apollonia and the tombs in the middle of the streets. The narrow streets that fit 2 people etc… they are also known for their pottery and “artisanat”. You’ll have so much to do in one week that your uncle will never see you guys. The beach at Plati Gialos is the longest in the Cyclades islands and the most popular with tons of activities snorkling... (There are caves and underwater passageways to explore,). There are mini-markets, tavernas and pubs. Historic sites: get yourself maps that clearly show the sites of ancient landmarks. Take advantage of your vacation to discover the beauty of the island. I read you can rent a bicycle, inquire about that. I read it is possible to rent a bike. Ask your uncle. I hope these ideas help you a little. Have a great week in Sifnos. I would like the name of your aunt’s hotel so I can look it up. Don't forget to take lots of pictures and post them for me to see. Apollonia pictures and other stuff too. Also pictures of your uncle and aunt and historic sites. I thought of stuff you can get me. Look if they sell fans (éventails) a big one and small (that fit in my purse) a scarf, pottery, books, mug, bling bling, bracelets or whatever fancies you... Also a plate you can hang for my mom. t-shirt for Nani (Medium). If possible, a nice summer dress for Fabiola size 6, hat or shirt same for Yuri, because he will share the toys with Adriano. My cousin Pina, something tacky she will have a good laugh... like a key-chain or something. OREGANO if possible. I wish I was there, the island you are on is incredible, it retained its authentic Greek culture and look. I think you will enjoy it thoroughly, I know I would... As for me, I can't really concentrate today, I don,t feel like it at all. I have been looking at Sifnos all morning wishing I was there... Let's communicate through your blogs send me pictures and news... for personnal stuff, send me an email... remember prepare everything on your pc first... it will cost less... Have fun! L.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb