Day 5 - Celebrating the Ascension


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

August 15, 2006

Most institutions were closed today. My sister went to the National Archaelogical Museum of Athens really early in the morning. I was actuallt supopsed to go with her, but my aunt wanted me to go to Church with her. We then met at my uncle's condo later on for a special feast to celebrate the Ascension day. After a while I left with my aunt and my son. We stayed awake the entire afternoon looking at pictures, which my son loved to watch. He was asking a lot of questions about the various relatives in our family. He also played a lot with his toy planes and read the book I got him about the Acropolis. My son always has this studious side to him and I like that. The afternoon just flew by especially with a couple of cold Nescafe frappes and at 19:00 we started to get ready to go out for supper. We went to pick up my mother and sister and drove off for a bit. The restaurant we went to was probably the only one open in the area. My son and I ate once again - you guessed it - souvlakis. So good! Then we dropped off my mom and brought my son home to sleep. My sister and I then took off to one of the new internet cafes I discovered by accident. Want to upload a few pictures tonight if possible. My son is really excited for tomorrow - he is really looking forward to going swimming in the sea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



16th August 2006

Nice Pics!
Nice pictures! Nano looks so good and healthy. I see he is having a good time with your family. Your aunt Thalia is looking very good. Actually, do you notice the resemblance between Adriano and Tia Thalia? Incredible, now I know where he got those features… I googled pictures of Sifnos, it’s a beautiful island. Maybe next time it will be my turn to go to Greece… hmmm…. Things here are going well. Fabiola spent the evening at Zeus’ house to play with Olivier. She will be back tonight. Her latest expression: “Mom, Yuri is so hyper!” Yuri’s latest craze: the “rain shower”. He loves that showerhead and yesterday, he stayed in there for 45 minutes. My mom has a great time watching him play because he lies down on his stomach and lets the “rain” fall all over him. As for me, I am out of my element, came to work with my p-jay t-shirt and had to buy a new shirt at lunchtime. Today, I came with my slippers… I wonder what will happen tomorrow. I don’t want to know. And I learned something new today: Thaithela naphao kati! Pou ine sto estiratorio? Ine etho! Ohi, ine eki! Thathelate naphate kati? Thaithela ligi birra parakalo! I forget how to say drink... It took me three days to pronounce theithela... thathelate... ooff... Why don’t you buy a bouzouki and bring it home, Adriano will start his guitar lessons soon and he’ll be able to play the instrument.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb