Day 4 - Kiffissia


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

August 14, 2006

Yesterday was a relaxation day considering all the walking we did at the Parthenon. Started my day late and started my day searching for breakfast. Walked to Agios Efstathios Plaza in search of a baker that was first of all open and second that made tiropites (cheese pies) or kimatopides (meat pies). Most of them were closed due to the Acsension holiday. My son also wanted these tasty little snacks and went hunting with me. Then we found one open and we were so excited until the owner informed us that he had sold out everything in the first ninety minutes of opening time. We kept on searching until all stores were covered. I did discover two new internet cafes though that were much closer than the joint we normally visit and they looked nicer too. I walked back home to my aunt's house and explained that no baker was open. She then told me to jump in the car with my son and withing minutes we were at a baker with a long line-up. We were soon digging our teeth in some tasty little snacks - tiropites. Then we went to due some grocery shopping, and finally we ended up finding my mom at the Trofino grocery store, but she couldn't find what she was looking for and went to Sklavenitis where we found everything we wanted to prepare for the Ascension feast. We then went to my uncle's house where we ate eggplants - that was really tasty! I passed out again and soon after we woke up we got ready to go out with our cousin Maria. She took us to Kiffissia which is one of the higher end districts in the Athens area. I've been there many times before and one can easily notice that it is because there are real and continuous sidewalks there. My son really loved looking at all that was around him. He was so curious about everything. We were supposed to go to TGIF's, but ended up in Haagen Daz's. My son ate a good chocolate scoop of ice-cream, which was taste approved by me. He also had a sip of my banana smoothie. We stayed to chat a bit there and then went home. On our way home my son was staring at a stray dog and that aroused the dog's attention. It leapt to its feet and started barking really loud. Both my sister and him started to run around the corner while my mom was ready to club it with her purse should the dog come too close. The poor boy got the scare of his life and afterwards started asking a thuosand questions about what happened. We got home safe and watched a documentary on some Greek isles. After about an hour I fell asleep, but my son fell asleep much sooner than that. It was another good day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb