Day 7 - Uncle Nick returns


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 17th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

August 17, 2006

Today I woke up really early and kept my aunt company before leaving for work. I actually woke her up an hour after her alarm went off and she was grateful that I shook her out of her ZZZs. My son ate really well - two eggs, a yogourt, and a glass of milk. After eating with him I decided to surprise him by taking him to Jumbo - the equivalent of Toys R' Us here in Greece. We were looking to replace a small submarine which he broke earlier this week, but unfortunately they were all sold out. I didn't want to disappoint him so I bought him a small metal airplane which he loved. He now has almost a dozen airplanes. After Jumbo we headed off to another toy store which had an affordable boat, but it was closed for vacations. When we got home in the early afternoon I decided to call my cousin Maria to see what she and my sister were up to. They were at the grocery store and they invited me for lunch. I left the house right away to meet them at AB which was right beside Jumbo - I was just there a few minutes earlier. Maria shopped for a few items then we walked to her house. She cooked some fusilis and made a vegetable sauce. Everyone ate well - it was really good. My son was feeling heavy after the meal and went to nap. He woke up a short while later and then Thalia came to pick us up to go home. We then called our Uncle Nick and he was awake after his afternoon siesta (or nap as I call it). He came by to see us and convinced us to come back to Sifnos. We talked about the conditions and they were favourable. The high season has already ended on the island until September when the foreigners begin to arrive. Each time my uncle would ask if we wanted to go to Sifnos my son would say yeah yeah yeah. I guess it didn't take too much convincing. We are leaving Saturday morning at 7AM. Until then my uncle is busy helping his two Romanian friends to get some important documents from the Greek government. After the discussion on Sifnos were finalized, Nick decided to take us to Penteli. He took us to that famous souvlaki joint called "To Petroni to Stamati". I ate twelve souvlaki sticks - it was just amazing. My son ate well also and so did my sister. Our uncle then brought us closer to the summit of Penteli mountain. The temperature was noticeably lower and very windy. From this vantage point you can see all of Athens and it was very impressive - my son was really excited to watch all the lights. We then drove home and made plans to meet again tomorrow. When we got home my sister and I had to just burn some of those calories we had just eaten and decided to go to a new internet cafe - this was the best one we visited so far, it was really nice inside. We're walking home soon. This has been a really good day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb