Ahhh, warm weather


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
October 19th 2009
Published: October 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Balcony viewBalcony viewBalcony view

Buildings are everywhere nearby. Almost all of them have balconies.
Today I left Budapest for Athens and the warm weather within it. I got to the airport and made my flight without a hitch.

When we arrived in Athens, we disembarked onto a stairway and were treated to the warm weather immediately while we waited for a shuttle to take us to the main terminal. It felt like 75°F here; wonderful after the 30s and 40s the last week and a half.

I caught the metro from the airport to my hotel. The metro ride is a VERY long one. After waiting for 15 minutes for it to leave, it was at least another 45 minutes to get to the center of town. As we approached, it got fuller and fuller. When we first boarded, a number of us had put our bags on a baggage rack. With the cars jam packed, it proved difficult to get them. I started to get mine together at the stop before my destination. Some others weren’t as on the ball. I bet they didn’t have enough time to get their bags and get off the packed car.

The hostel is nearby the connecting stop, Arcopolis. I dropped off my bags and
Looking towards where I ateLooking towards where I ateLooking towards where I ate

The restaurant is just on the right corner at the end of the street.
immediately took in the views from my room’s balcony after interrupting one of my roommate’s makeout sessions with his girlfriend.

For dinner, I went nearby to a touristy Greek restaurant. There I tried moussaka, a Greek form of lasagna with eggplant, tomato, minced meat and who knows what else. As a lasagna lover, I found it delicious.

Back at the hostel I looked into the ferry schedule for tomorrow since I’m heading to the Greek island of Ios. This time of year is off season so it is limited to one per day. And it leaves at 7:25 am. It seems strange that it leaves that early since it gets in at 2:15 pm.

While I was searching for ferries, I overheard some girls on the floor below say they were from Harrisburg. I shot up and asked them if I heard them correctly. I did. They’re actually from Perry County but Harrisburg is the closest city to them. They had all just graduated from college and were delaying their job searches while they found refuge in warm weather locations.

I mentioned I was heading to Ios. They had just come from Santorini and said it was a bit quieter than peak time but they enjoyed it and the weather was nice. Later, I found out that they were in my room upstairs.

After showering, I hit the rack early since I will have to be up by 6:00 to catch my ferry.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb