Back in dirty Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 9th 2005
Published: August 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I left Santorini yesterday. It was nice to finally leave the island, though it has been great, but I started feeling that I did nothing with these precious days of holiday, -except trying to get a little more brown, which is and always has been impossible for me! There were people it was sad to say goodbye to, but that's life and that's travelling. You meet so many people and some of them you are destined to like. All you can do afterwards is to hope that you might have a free week to visit them one day.

Being on Santorini I've had quit some bad news and further. Except from the daily Pina Colada and other party-island traditions, I've had several talks with my mother and czech-airlines whom I really don't understand. I had been told from my mother that I am to start uni on the 29th of august. That will say one day before my return to Denmark and I had afterwards desperately tried to get my flight moved, but all they could tell me was that I was on a waiting list and had to call later. This made me break down in a public phone outside a supermarket with my mother in the other end, trying everything to comfort me. Thanks mum! You are the best! But it still didn't help... Not knowing when I had to go home I neither knew how long I can spend with my boyfriend in Slovenia before departing. And for me it is more than important to have a last goodbye. And by deciding that this is really important I would have to cut off days from my travel and not even knowing how many, considering that I don't know when I'll be leaving. So I've been really confused for some days, untill just half an hour ago when my wonderful organisation in Denmark told that they had taken care of everything and that I had gotten a ticket on the 25th. Now I can start plan where to go from here on.
Other things that has made my travel a little hard at the moment is an overdosis of chlorin from the swimmingpool, resulting in a stopped nose and a very hurting throit. I'm feeling pretty sick and tired and have several times considered to end my travel now. But something keeps me going. This travel I've been planning for about a year and been dreaming about for many more. No way I'm gonna stop because of a little cold. Finally I couldn't get on the nighttrain yesterday to Thessaloniki which means that I'm loosing one day of travelling, trapped in Athens. This would normally not have been that bad, but after already knowing that my travel has been reduced because of uni and czech-airlines it is surtently not welcome. At the same time due to my very stopped and sensitive nose Athens seems dirtier than ever and I've had several coincidences in the Metro where people have moved away from me because of my very loud sneezes and noseblowing. It gives some extra space, but that's about it. I need fresh air!!!!

Well, now comfortably sitting down in a nice chair I will tell a little more about my week on Santorini. Most people I believe came there to get drunk, not to see the island. The normal procedure was to buy one and a half liter of wine for 2.30euro and then get pissed ending up at the legendary beach bar. I only joined the drinking for my three first days getting rather drunk in Alfa, Mythos and a serie of cocktails. It was really fun and I had a laugh dancing infront of the cars with a pretty fucked up Scottish guy. But later I found it nicer just to sit with my cold water and flying saucers.
Introduction to Flying Saucers: This is a form of candy I haven't seen in Denmark for the last decade. They look like and taste like the bread you get in church, but inside they have a strong powder of lemonsalt. They are great in the way that you can try and find new ways of eating them all the time. It was also great to see how all the Europeans fell over them and ate them constantly, while the Americans and Australians sad and looked strangely for half an hour, where after they tried and often didn't ask for a second. So if you are European you have to know what they are, maybe with different names. And if you are from outside Europe, then this is what you have to try to get the complete European feeling.

Well considering that my nose is running pretty badly I will stop now to find some paper!
See you on my next stop!
Anna



Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb