Twenty Things for Solo Travel


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Pláka
December 5th 2021
Published: December 6th 2021
Edit Blog Post

According to Lonely Planet, these are twenty important things to consider when traveling solo. I added a few comments. Safety first-I think this applies, solo or otherwise. Learn the language-the basics are always useful and helps make a connection. Talk to locals-of course, this is one of the main reasons to travel! Look for shared housing options-I am not sure about this, though many friends do this often. Go your own way-the perfect travel partner gives and gets their own space. Challenge yourself-always include some of this, but not 100% of the time. Experience it all-pace yourself, what is the big hurry?Believe in yourself-enough said.Try couchsurfing-not a big fan, but it does work for many travelers.Take your time-especially as I get older!Be your own photographer-of course.Get lost-intentional or not, it leads to good stories.Join a tour-be selective!Ask for advice-ask the people who have been there.Work for room and board-go ahead!Join a cruise-go ahead!Expand your skills-a cooking class, or ??Make wise choices-of course!<li style="-webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased;">Trust your gut-of course, but be prepared.Embrace total freedom-always, this is the essence of travel.

I have added a few tips:Always carry some local currency, do not rely totally on your plastic.Always have a Plan B.Make a friend or buddy.Don't stay out late!Always carry a paper map, do not rely on google maps.

Here is a case for solo travel: There’s Never Been a More Necessary Time to Go on a Trip Alone (msn.com) And for the best places in the US for solo travelers:
The survey’s (Vacation Renter) entire top 10 U.S. cities for solo travel were:
New York City (not sure I agree)Chicago (definitely great for solo travelers)Los AngelesWashington, D.C. (ditto, as this city has lots of singles)Las Vegas (surprising, though maybe I hang with a different group))San Francisco (maybe)Denver (I would agree)AustinSeattle (probably, though best to avoid the hordes of homeless)Phoenix (particularly in Scottsdale, home of plastic surgery)

Best places in the world for solo travelers, based on my experience: Athens Amsterdam Bangkok Munich Mexico City Vancouver Buenos Aires Sydney Queenstown Costa del Sol I have found that solo travel opens your possibilities in many ways. One, I am more open to new adventures. Two, I always make new friends. And three and most important, I might discover something new about myself!

Advertisement



7th December 2021

Thanks for sharing this great article, I’ll share this with my Traveler friends.
https://www.startuphrtoolkit.com/roles-and-responsibilities-of-hr/
8th December 2021

Solo travel makes you grow
traveling solo is one of the best ways to make yourself grow and connect to your inner peace. But always choose places which are safe to travel solo and Amsterdam is one of the safest places to travel solo and very beautiful.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb