Last day in Göttingen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
June 12th 2012
Published: June 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dan and I began my last day here with our now standard breakfast fare of flaky croissants and muesli doused in the creamy local yoghurt. Negotiating the washing machine in the dark depths of the apartment basement, I went about my laundry tasks which meant having to phone Dan to even get the lid of the washing machine open....

Soon I was free to catch the nearby local bus down to the old city, making sure to wander through the sunlit botannic gardens and stop for a 'bowl' of coffee (extra large cup without a handle as per Alice in Wonderland style) and to eat some of the delcious sunflower seed studded bread from the Küster bakery...

In order to look my best when I get back, a hair dressers appointment resulted in a rather blonde hairdo. Seems hair colours are not the same in Europe! Back on the street I came across a few English speaking locals who had been to Australia and had lived in Brisbane.... The world can be a very small and surprising place.

It was soon time to meet Dan at the local town hall for beer o'clock and a final German meal of spargel (asparagus) and schnitzel. At this time of year, every town in Europe has truckloads of white asparagus which features prominently in the green grocers and on most menus.

A graduating student stood with his beer and champagne beneath the goose girl when I returned to the fountain to say goodbye. In her hands was a fresh bouquet of flowers and the student stood with his group of friends, studying the pictures on his phone. I wonder if he could still feel the water droplets from the fountain when he climbed up over the stepping stone to plant a much anticipated kiss on the goose girl's waiting cheek..


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb