Day out in Göttingen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
June 11th 2012
Published: June 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today we feasted on the delicious, large croissants from the local 'Küster' bakery before Dan headed to work and I began my leisurely day as a tourist. The skies were overcast and the air chilly, although the birds continued with their spring time songs regardless. Catching the local bus was no easy feat considering my German is non-existent, luckily the driver could understand sign language....

My destination was the stop at the gorgeous botannical gardens, I walked through the winding paths and took an ancient stone tunnel under the road to reach the Old City. Dan and I met at Gänseliesel (the local Goose Girl statue which graduating students kiss for good luck). Lunch was at a local cafe, my deluxe latte macchiato with caramel syrup was outstanding. Later it was time for an hour of bliss at the hands of the local Thai masseuse, a treat after hauling my backpack everywhere I go.

After searching many times for Danziger Goldwasser (liquorice liqueur), specially requested by an ex-pat back home, victory was reached when we found a bottle of this gold leaf infused delicacy at a local bottle shop.

Chicken fajitas are on our menu for a home cooked meal tonight. It was my task to search the local stores for coriander,limes, yoghurt and the like. Catching my bus home, I was amused to see three young boys with their bicycles catch the bus and haul their bikes onboard as casually as a bags of shopping. Bicycles are a very common form of transport here and the parking areas for bikes are usually grossly overcrowded and disorderly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb