Mexican Evening


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
September 27th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I never thought tacos would taste sooooooo good! I made dinner for a few friends and wanted to cook Mexican food. It's amazing how much more you appreciate what you normally take for granted at home when you're somewhere else and can't have what you normally can. In California Mexican food is soooooo common. In Germany, it's really something special and pretty difficult to come across. I miss it soooo much.
Finding something that I could cook here (and what everyone would like was pretty difficult). I had to go online and look at recipes. I finally decided upon tacos, 'cause it didn't require a lot of ingredients that were really different. It seemed kinda boring though. Tacos back in California (or the states for that matter) are normal. When I was thinking of what I would make for dinner tacos seemed kinda boring and unoriginal. But my friends had never had a taco before! They loved em =) I had to find a recipe for the taco seasoning though cause I didn't think there would be a packet here. I was quite suprised when I went shopping with Thomas and found a packet of taco seasoning (and even taco sauce) in Marktkauf. (the grocery store in Sundern) =) Marktkauf was recently remodeled and they've since expanded the product selection. I definetley noticed that today. Had I wanted to make tacos even last summer, there's no way I would have found taco seasoning in Sundern!! It was quite a nice suprise. It also shows how quickly the things from other countries are being exported to other countries.
I know taco seasoning doesn't seem like a big idea, but that a town of around 30,000 people would have ingredients for food from a country that is so far away and that it really doesn't have much contact with is really a good example of globalization at works.
My friends really liked the food and wanted the recipe. =) We even had Mexican beer with the meal to make it more authentic. hehehe... (can't miss out on the beer when in Germany)... It was a fun night all around. I'm gonna close now (I somehow manage to continue to make these entries quite long) Just remember.... don't take for granted the little things.... Ciao!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb