Turf and surf Oct 6, 2022


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Brauneberg
October 6th 2022
Published: October 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Turf and surf Oct 6, 2022

Oh, my body aches, I literally rolled out of bed onto the floor and crawled to the bathroom.

Yes, we’re feeling it this morning, after riding all those miles yesterday.

Kirsten is ready to go downstairs for breakfast before me, I’m still trying to get my pants on.

While at breakfast we decided to take a nice relaxing walk to village of Traben-Trarbach. The lady at the i told us to go up the Mosel to BernKastel and hike over the vineyards and take the boat taxi back down the Mosel.

What could possibly go wrong!

We arrived in BernKastel, parked the car, and found the trail. It was well marked like all trails in Germany. The problem was, It was straight up as in 90 degrees straight up. Kirsten looked at me.... I hung my head. After promising myself I could drink the village dry we decided to do it.

It was a very, very, very, steep walk, hell it was a F&^$# climb. Through the vineyards we went, stopping often and resting and once at the top we took in all the beauty around us; the vineyards, the Mosel the mountains .... ok steep hills.

At this time, I need to give a shout out to Dr Einhorn and ORMC for the Stent they installed in June. I believe that was the extra umph that got me over the top and the promise of a beer.

Once we started down the other side, all we could think of was how good a cold beer in the village of Traben-Trarbach was going to taste.

When we reached the village most of the cafes were closed, WHAT! Finally, we found one and had a wonderful cold beer, two, maybe three.

We purchased our boat tickets on the Mosel Pearl and sailed back to BernKastel while enjoying another cold beer on the boat.

We had dinner in our Zimmer and planned our trip to Wangen. Once back in our room the lights were out, and I was gone........

Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb