My First Week in Germany!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Cologne
August 6th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DC DC DC

At the bar with new friends in DC
I have only been in Cologne for 5 days, but it feels like it has been a long time. The city has welcomed us with open arms and I have barely had time to sit and think about what has been happening over the last week.

Washington DC was definitely a good time. Lots of information and time to meet the other participants. Thanks to Brenna and Rick for housing me in Baltimore on Friday night! It was so fun to hang out with them and catch up! They took me to Georgetown on Saturday and to the dorm. It felt like freshmen year all over again! haha.

I was able as well to visit a couple of museums, the Air and Space Museum and also the National Archives. Carrie and Liz from Semester at Sea picked me up and I was able to see their apartment on the Hill and also go to a nice dinner. I am so glad that I had a chance to see them; Georgetown is such a beautiful campus. I got a kick out of being “in college” again. There’s just something about dorm life that I didn’t miss…haha.

So Tuesday, after
Brenna and Rick'sBrenna and Rick'sBrenna and Rick's

With Brenna at her and Rick's place in Baltimore before heading to DC for orientation.
dragging our heavy luggage all over the place, we were finally ready to head overseas. We had a lovely flight on Lufthansa and arrived in Frankfurt at 6:15 am. I don’t sleep very well on planes so I was quite exhausted, but we had a long day ahead of us. Our group of 40 people that would study in Cologne for the next two months split off from the others that went to other language schools. It was very weird after just meeting these people and spending so much time with them in DC, to just leave and accept that we would not be in the same place again until the end of the program. Our group boarded a bus and headed first to Bonn, where InWent (the company that has arranged everything here in Germany for our program) has their headquarters. They prepared a lovely breakfast for us and we enjoyed it while trying to keep our eyes open throughout presentations.

Finally it was time to go to Cologne, and we were taken immediately to have a wonderful traditional German lunch. I’m not sure who was still hungry after eating a new meal every 2 hours, but none
Dinner with Carrie and LizDinner with Carrie and LizDinner with Carrie and Liz

Semester at Sea Reunion in DC!
the less we enjoyed the schnitzel. We had more information covering the next few days and times as well as received our transportation passes we would need the next morning to get back to the center. Then we were split into pairs and dumped into taxis with our luggage to go to our host’s houses. Becky and I live in a little suburb called Loevenich. It is a cute little neighborhood, west of the city. It is very quiet and it only takes me 8 minutes to get to school with the S-Bahn (fast commuter train). I have already become very used to the train and getting around the city and I feel like a real commuter!

I live with a very nice lady named Kerstin. She is I think in her mid 30s and is a childrens therapist. I have a room with a nice bed, table and tv, and then I share the kitchen and bathroom with her. I will write soon more with pictures of the flat.

Thursday, we took our language test to see what level we will be in for the next two months, and then had a meeting with InWent to go
CapitalCapitalCapital

Becky, Carolyn and I in front of the Capital
over information for the year. We received our BahnCard50, which I believe will be my best friend for the next year. It gives us 50% off our rail travel around Germany. Some of us went to the Altstadt (Old City) near the Dom to have a German dinner and try some Kölsch Bier. This is the famous beer from Cologne. I have to admit it is way too easy to drink. It comes in smaller 0.2 L glasses and they continue to bring it to you until you put a coaster on the top of your glass.

Friday we spent the morning registering ourselves at the Anmeldung office. So I guess according to the German government I officially live here. When I move to Hamburg I will have to go to the office there and register myself again with the new address. Then we wandered around the city and spent some time at the Dom taking pictures. It is such an incredible cathedral. The spires tower over the city and you can see them from miles away! I had the traditional cake and coffee break with my friend Lara at the restaurant where I ate with my parents 8
Frankfurt AirportFrankfurt AirportFrankfurt Airport

Way too much luggage.
years ago. So crazy where life will take you. We found a street festival later in the afternoon and met some Ambulance drivers. It was fun to speak German with them and talk about cultural differences.

Saturday, after finally getting some good sleep, I met some friends and we walked to the Chocolate Museum. Yes, I said chocolate. Fabulous. We learned all about chocolate, how to make chocolate, how to mold chocolate, how to eat chocolate. After that I went back home to venture to the large mall that is just south of my suburb so that I could go grocery shopping. This is always an experience. I think the worst part is checking out, because you must pay and put everything in your bag very quickly or you get in trouble. We of course were fumbling with money and groceries, and such. I thing it will be better now that I have some food to cook with. Wine at the grocery store here is only 3-4 Euros for a bottle. So cheap! Last night we met our ambulance driver friends at a large student beer garden in an area close to where I live.

This morning I
mit Bier!mit Bier!mit Bier!

my first Kölsch Bier! It is the local specialty in Cologne!
woke up early so that I could go a few houses down to my host’s sisters house for breakfast. What a wonderful experience to be with their parents, her sister’s family, all around the table in the garden eating an incredible and huge brunch. I had a great time speaking with all of them, her father is an English teacher. Then I went downtown to meet my group for a short tour on the Rhein river. It was an absolutely beautiful day and I think we all enjoyed being out on the water. I saw tons of people on the banks sunbathing and taking a dip in the river. I think I will have to do that next weekend.

And so there we are. My first week in Cologne. I have been very busy. Tomorrow, we start our language school classes and I know that life will settle down a little bit. I have been very surprised at how fast my German has come back and I am now finally getting to experience how much fun it is to really speak a language well. I feel like I started where I left off 3 years ago. This is an
Chocolate MuseumChocolate MuseumChocolate Museum

With the wax figure in the Chocolate Museum
incredible relief because I had thought I might have forgotten everything I learned. You will have to excuse my English though now, it seems to be getting worse by the day. We shall see how the language school classes go, but I am determined to make the most of it and learn as much German grammar and writing as possible so that I can do well in my internship in Feb. I will find out this week about my schooling and living situation in Hamburg, so I am very excited!

I hope all is well with everyone; I should have better access to email and the internet when my host gets her password for her wireless. I am going to try to take my laptop to the school a few times this week. Thanks for all the emails thus far and well wishes. I know already this year is going to be such an incredible experience! :-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Nap TimeNap Time
Nap Time

Exhausted after the trip to Germany. Taking a nap with Lara on the lawn in Bonn.
Cologne DomCologne Dom
Cologne Dom

What an impressive Cathedral
Cologne DomCologne Dom
Cologne Dom

The Dom from our boat ride!


6th August 2007

WOW...
How exciting Paige. I am envious of your travels. I love this site. What a great idea for sharing stories about your adventure. By the way I love your new bob haircut. It's adorable and fits you well :) Take care and I look forward to the next posting. Jackie

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb