Cruising With Friends.. What Could Be Better?


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Names Withheld to Protect the InnocentNames Withheld to Protect the InnocentNames Withheld to Protect the Innocent

Taken just before our arrest...
In one of my last blog entries I referenced being in Bratislava and having "one of those magical days" that you long for when you travel. I had to stop writing and immediately look up the telephone number for my new friend Stephanie and call her. Ironically, she and her hubby has just been talking about us the day before and it got me to thinking: travel is so much more than the places we see, it is about the friendships that form while on the journey.

Over the course of the past 13 years, travel has become not only my passion, but my life. Thanks to the internet and the magic of Facebook and blogs like this, I have been able to stay in touch with many of the friends I've made throughout the world and it made me so happy to think that even after the journey was over, these people have stayed in touch with me, shared their photos, and their lives outside of our vacation. Then today, while looking for an appropriate picture for my last entry I came upon a really nice website/blog called Travel & Transitions. This wonderful blog struck me and I felt compelled to write its author. We have now exchanged emails and she said something in one of them that I really liked... that travel and sharing her journeys was one way to contribute to peace in the world.

It got me to thinking about where all my travel friends live, what they do, and how far reaching my network has grown. Our trip in October is just another extension of this and it made me feel so excited! Our group is now over 40 people. We have married couples, singles, people of all ages, from multiple countries around the globe and I can't wait to get you all together and to see the bonds of friendship develope.

What could be a better job?


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Names Withheld to Protect the InnocentNames Withheld to Protect the Innocent
Names Withheld to Protect the Innocent

Even the cold can't affect our good time!
Names Withheld to Protect the InnocentNames Withheld to Protect the Innocent
Names Withheld to Protect the Innocent

Meeting each morning before our tours, of course everyone fought to be with me!
Names Withheld to Protect the InnocentNames Withheld to Protect the Innocent
Names Withheld to Protect the Innocent

Mother and daughter enjoying a fun day...
Names Withheld to Protect the InnocentNames Withheld to Protect the Innocent
Names Withheld to Protect the Innocent

Innocent? What was I thinking!


Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb