The Mental Realm of Heavenly Dopamine


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Lower Saxony » Braunschweig
September 16th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bathing sparrowsBathing sparrowsBathing sparrows

in Braunschwein
Braunschwein, 30-07-2007.

Braunschwein, a fitting name considering all the wild boar I have seen these last couple of days, whole brownish colored families of wild boar foraging in the left-overs of maiz harvested fields, totally unperturbed while I got off my bike on numerous occasions for sketching purposes. Huge flocks of forset sparrows landing on wild pork backs, searching the hairy raw hide for nutricious tics, releaving their hosts off the inevitable evil in a swine's excistence.

I brush my teeth and wash my face using the main square's fountain, waiting for the McDonalds to open, surely keen of a fatty McDonalds breakfast with limitless strong black coffee after my days of living rough...a needfull diversion in the form of good food.

Bold city sparrows - a bit bigger than their forest cousins - have an early morning wash in the puddles I create around my booted feet...a good aquarel while whiling away a few cherished tranquil hours in an American capitalist temple on German soil and with unlimited strong coffee.

A small group of scruffy looking males and females mostly in their late twenties and dressed in aging clothes, unshaved rough faces and opened beer cans - where did they buy beer at this early hour? - tell me all there is to know about this sorry group whose sleepy and unhealthy dogs come in handy during their day time begging activities, protection at night in dangerous public parks while their owners are sleeping off their zillionth hang-over in a comatose state...

While I watch one of them stumbling over, the mongrel at his side looking just as scruffy as him, I can hear Nong's voice again, that highly typical Asian voice speaking to me during my dreams and my day time struggles, bringing me relieve when saddle pain - another long cyclist's nightmare - is making the going get tough, convincing me to make camp for the night when my doped up Farang mind refushes to leave the Mental Realm of Heavenly Dopamine...

"This man, he like you, Hans, when not you go back Amsterdam, not pay rent for house you, no money..you like him"...

"Haben Sie vielleicht eine kleine Gabe, mein Freund", a few specks of bubbly phlegm landing on the pavement while I get out of my revery...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Bold sparrowBold sparrow
Bold sparrow

in Germany


Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 82; dbt: 0.2146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb