The most confusing airport


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
November 15th 2006
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Frankfurt SubwayFrankfurt SubwayFrankfurt Subway

Clean and quiet...what a difference from Chicago
After a 7 hour flight out of Chicago I arrived at Frankfurt, dazed after a few to many drinks mixed with Ambien. Not a good start to finding your way through the what seemed to be the most confusing airport. I had a nine hour halt so I thought I 'd go out and explore the city for a bit. Well it took me about an hour to find the damn subway and some 3 Euros to get on. Turns out nobody checks the tickets...wish I had known that before paying the 8 Euro conversion fee from Dollars to Euros. Anyway I finally got to the downtown area and began wandering around. The first thing you walk through when leaving the main station is the Red Light district. At first it didn't hit me where I was until some woman grabbed my arm and asked if I wanted to see a free dance. Uhhh....holy crap I'm dead center in the Red Light district. I quickly pushed my way through and finally got out into the downtown area which was pretty nice but nothing impressive. Ate some awesome pizza and walked around some more before heading back to the airport where I
Lunch at PiazzoLunch at PiazzoLunch at Piazzo

One of the best pizza's I've ever had and great service
sat for what seemed like an eternity. I realized I had forgotten my book on "Che" at home and was now bookless and didn't feel like spending a small fortune on another book at the airport. So I sat and played with my camera all the while listening to music.

I finally got on what had to be the longest and crappiest flight I had ever been on. No entertainment and crappy food was what I had to look forward to. After a grueling 10 hours we finally landed in Joburg where I welcomed the heat after coming from near freezing temps in Chicago. I spent most of today recouping and getting readjusted to +8 hour time difference. I've met some cool people here already at the hostel, one guy from the states and another from Sweeden. We've booked a tour for Soweto and Joburg tommorow which should be very powerful. Along the way we'll be stopping at the Apartheid museum as well. Well I'm off to go watch some TV and will write soon. I'll post pics as soon as I can find a faster connection.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Downtown and RedlightDowntown and Redlight
Downtown and Redlight

The redlight district right next to downtown...convenient
HauptbahnhofHauptbahnhof
Hauptbahnhof

Main trainstation in Frankfurt
Bathroom or Exit?Bathroom or Exit?
Bathroom or Exit?

I seriously followed a few of these signs thinking they would lead to a bathroom


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb