Final Frankfurt Day


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt am Main
September 9th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

StatueStatueStatue

Random Statue near the Museums.
This was my last real day in Frankfurt. My first stop was the Museum für Kommunikation. It was fascinating. Upstairs was a DIY (Do It Yourself) section which was mostly handicrafts and a few signs. They did have a ‘work station’ where you could make buttons or tinker with circuits and such. Downstairs though was where the permanent display was set up. There are 7 sections; the first one was about how communication started pictures and signals before the written word. Each section then progresses to the invention of mail and the postal system and then radio, television, phones and finally computers and the Internet. The signs on the walls were all in German but at the beginning of each “section” there was a book with the English translation of all the signs in that section. Only one book though so if there are two groups of English speaking people you have to share. Luckily I didn’t have that problem I got there as it was opening and stayed all morning (and a bit of the afternoon), but the only other visitors were German. I of course not realizing that there are numbered sections and that I should start with the first one, I started with number 5, radios. Once I finished that section I realized my error and went to the beginning. It was very informative and there were lots of displays with models of different radios, old ones!! Along with a few interactive displays. There were two Morse Code stations set up and you could send Morse codes to each other!! In the afternoon I walked around the water and ended up on a “cruise” up and down the water. It was drizzly, grey and foggy in the distance so the photos were not the best, but it was still an enjoyable ride. I decided, this being my last night that I would go out for dinner instead of buying something from the grocery store and coming back to the hostel. I went to a little café near the water called Liman Da. I had Pasta and the local drink Apfelwein (apple wine). The pasta was delicious, the wine was not bad but then I am not a huge fan of wine so I cannot say if it was better or worse than any other. I went to the ice cream shop and got a cone of Mango eis
SheepSheepSheep

Made out of old telephones...so cute!!
for desert. All of my roommates left this morning and so far there has not been anyone else come into the room so it is possible that I will have the room to myself tonight (knock on wood).
Tomorrow I am going to walk to take a train to take a bus to take a plane to get to Edinburgh (and Scottish accents). My flight doesn’t get in until 7ish so I may not post anything tomorrow.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Cell PhoneCell Phone
Cell Phone

One of the first examples of writing, on stones. It looks kind of like a modern cell phone. (or maybe that is the other picture)
Mail Delivery 1Mail Delivery 1
Mail Delivery 1

By Stagecoach
Answering MachinesAnswering Machines
Answering Machines

The first answering machines.
TVTV
TV

And you thought your TV was big and bulky!
Mac ComputerMac Computer
Mac Computer

What Mac's used to look like
Cute Card 1Cute Card 1
Cute Card 1

When you first see the card there are ingredients for a...
Cute Card 2Cute Card 2
Cute Card 2

...CAKE!!! Chocolate if I am not mistaken.
FogFog
Fog

It is supposed to be the amazin skyline of Frankfurt. Really it is a bridge and fog!
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Apfelwein Apple Wine
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Vegitarian Pasta...really good vegitarian pasta.
Hollow TreeHollow Tree
Hollow Tree

Yes there is a random Hollow Tree?!?
Hollow Tree 2Hollow Tree 2
Hollow Tree 2

With Bars inside. I wonder if it a secret door that somebody didn't close all the way?


9th September 2011

Sounds like you\'re having a good time in Frankfurt in spite of the weather. I forwarded Rebecca\'s address and \'phone numbers to your e-mail, but I couldn\'t find anything relavent from Clarence on mom\'s computer. Mom\'s in Kelowna and will be back tomorrow, so I\'ll get her to check then. I hope you have a great travel day -- walk, train, bus, plane, taxi. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb