Bremen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bremen » Bremen
September 28th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So yes I have made it to Bremen. The countryside here is breathtaking. I mean really. It reminds me of pictures of Marin before all the people and when horses and cows were prevelent; or so I hear. Today was a lazy day. Laundry and walking around looking for a grocery store, which I splattered my yogert all over one of the isles. Go me. There are German Warmbloods every where. Horses, dairy cows, and sheep are the main thing here. At least that is what is smells like. Later in the afternoon there was that unmistakable smell of cow shit. I felt like I was back home, except for the 600 year old church staring at me with gold on its ficad. Aparently my german is worse than I thought. I understand more french than german unfortunately. I can get around some things, but when I went to the post office, I was completely lost. First year german doesn't get to post office lingo. Ordering food at the restaurant, getting the bill, paying for food at the grocery store, looking at food, simple sentences that sort of thing is more my speed. But this whole converstaional, thing, or trying to send a package, or expressing your grattitued for the wonderfull experience, that sort of thing just ins't covered in first year german. I guess I know what I'm going to be doing when I get back to the states. I need to learn these languages like the back of my hand. There is too much literature, art, and what have you that you can really only experience from reading it in it's origional form.
Anyhoo, that's about it. It was really overcast today. I'm hoping tomorrow will be less so, that way I can at least get some good pictures in before I go.


-Kati

Advertisement



Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb